Principal Honored with Top Award

Principal Honored with Top Award

Last Friday morning, Waynewood Elementary School was bustling with activity. Even though school was closed for the day, Student Council officers were packing up to attend the Virginia Student Council Association (VSCA) annual state convention.

Officers Megan Donovan, Erin Spence, Lexi Vlasho, Haley Mertins, and Margaret Amos were driven down to Richmond with Bethany Goodwin, the school’s SCA advisor, and assistant principal, Maura Caulfield.

This year, in addition to joining in the activities of the leadership convention, they were present to honor Waynewood Elementary School principal Nancy Coughlan who was honored as the Elementary School Administrator of the Year. She was selected by the association after being nominated by the Bethany Goodwin, the school’s SCA advisor and students and Calanthia Tucker, Fairfax County Public Schools Cluster IV Director. The officers themselves were also honored with an achievement award.