School Notes

School Notes

The All-County Choral Festival Concert will be held Saturday, May 4 at 3:30 p.m. at Fairfax high school, 3500 Old Lee Highway. The concert involves approximately 700 chosen sixth grade singers from all over Fairfax County, who have been preparing music since December. The concert is free. For more information, call 703-267-2800.

Hayfield Secondary School has made the following announcements:

Hayfield Spanish teacher Amy Marta has been named "Outstanding Teacher of the Year" in her graduate counseling program at George Mason University. The award comes with a $500 scholarship and a plaque.

Recently a number of Hayfield Secondary students were recognized for their artwork in a county-wide competition. Winners in the Drawing category were Ian McCormack, who won a Silver Key, and Briana Hertzog and Jamie Richardson, who won Certificates of Merit. In the Computer Graphics category, Theresa Rowan won the Silver Key, and Ava Waller won the Gold Key in Photography. Ava Waller will also be representing Fairfax County in the National Championships in New York. She and the other winning students were assisted by Hayfield teachers Sallye Mahan-Cox, Nancy Hannans, Jessica Summer and Wayne Zink.

Tommy La has been selected as one of the finalists by the Coca-Cola Co. in a nationwide competition in computer graphics. Final winners were to be selected at the end of February.

Susan Eisenbach and Alison Aguilera both entered the Fairfax County Council of Parent Teacher Association's Reflections Program and won in the Outstanding Interpretation category.

Hayfield's Junior ROTC has been approved for a $2,844 grant from the National Rifle Association to buy supplies and equipment to support air-rifle marksmanship training.

Julie Coleman won first place in an essay contest with the Alexandria Sunrise Optimist club. Her essay, "My Place in a Changing World," will now move on to district competition.

Erin Crowley, Laura Cammarata, Robyn Cuppett, Jamie Carter and Will Taylor were chosen to represent Hayfield in the All-State Honor Choir. Also chosen as alternates were Katie Shepherd, Rasneek Gujral, Jenn Matthews, Melissa Matson, Gavin Gulley and Jose Torres.

Every year the ROTC unit at Hayfield selects a military court for their annual ball. This year Megan Ellis and Caleb Ling were chosen from Headquarters Company while Chari Borger and Edward Hatton were selected from A Company. B Company was represented by Julie Lopez and Darin Keller. Winning the King and Queen award were Jeffrey Davis and Laurin Pulliam.

Hayfield recently held its schoolwide elections. Winning school student council (SCA) president was Diana Biberaj, co-SCA vice presidents are Sean Landers and Ali Bartlett. Chosen for SCA secretary was Sarah Baldino, and the new SCA treasurer will be Zach Scott. Historian will be William Parschalk.

Ashley Porter recently won the annual Fellowship of Christian Athletes college scholarship chosen from among 145 Northern Virginia schools.

The Cosmetology Department recently took part in the "Skills USA-VICA" District contest. Winning first place were Christine Rinehart and Robert Sneed.

An Annual Student Art Exhibit will be held on Friday, May 25, from 6:30-9 p.m., at St. Bernadette's School. The awards presentation will begin at 7:30 p.m. This exhibit is the first in a series of annual exhibits. Artwork representing every student in every grade at St. Bernadette's will be on display, representing all forms of art media. The awards ceremony will recognize students in all grades, with first-, second- and third-place and honorable mention awards.

The following local high-school reunions are being planned for the summer and fall of 2002. First-Class Reunions is in the process of locating alumni. Alumni may call 888-327-1984, or visit to update their information.

Fairfax High School — Class of 1982, 20-year reunion, Aug. 10, at Hyatt Fair Lakes; Class of 1992, 10-year reunion, Aug. 17, at Hilton Arlington Towers;

Thomas Jefferson High School — Class of 1982, 20-year reunion, Aug. 17, at Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax;

Hayfield Secondary School — Class of 1992, 10-year reunion, July 13, at Hilton Garden Inn Fairfax;

Lake Braddock Secondary School — Class of 1982, 20-year reunion, June 29, at Sheraton Premiere Tysons Corner; Class of 1992, 10-year reunion, June 1, at Sheraton Premiere Tysons Corner;

Robinson Secondary School — Class of 1992, 10-year reunion, Oct. 19, at Hilton Crystal City;

Robert E. Lee High School — Class of 1982, 20-year reunion, Aug. 17, at Sheraton Premiere Tysons Corner;

W.T. Woodson High School — Class of 1992, 10-year reunion, Aug. 24, at Holiday Inn Old Town Alexandria.