Appalachian Spring will collect new and good-condition used children’s books during the month of July to benefit needy children in Montgomery County.

The books will be distributed by the Housing Opportunities Commission (HOC) of Montgomery County, an organization established to provide affordable housing to eligible low and moderate income families and establish community development programs.

Drop off times will be during store hours at the Appalachian Spring store, 1641 Rockville Pike in Congressional Plaza, Monday- Friday from 10 a.m.-9 p.m., Saturday from 10 a.m.-6 p.m. and Sunday from noon-6 p.m.

The F. Scott Fitzgerald Student Short Story Contest is seeking entries from county high school students for its seventh annual contest. Entries must be postmarked by July 12. First prize is $250, and three runners-up will receive $100 each. There is no entry fee.

Winners will receive their awards on Oct. 26 at the F. Scott Fitzgerald Literary Conference. Call 301-309-9461 or visit for contest rules and more information.

Gabriel Abrantes, a member of the Class of 2002 of Walt Whitman High School, is the recipient of the Ida F. Haimovicz Visual Arts Award for 2002.

The award includes a $3,000 cash prize donated by the Arts and Humanities Council.

The following students earned bachelor of arts degrees from Lafayette College in Easton, Pa. at the school’s graduation commencement on May 25:

Peter Hume Heinrich Carlson of Potomac, with a major in economics and business; Ian Douglas Bibby of Bethesda, with a major in English; Daniel Robert Corno of Bethesda, with a major in economics and business; and Ryan Mary Wilcox of Rockville, with a major in psychology.

The following students have been named to the dean’s list at Bucknell University, in Lewisburg, Pa., with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher:

Elizabeth M. Brauer, daughter of Frank and Lisa Brauer of Potomac; Benjamin E. Fisher, son of Richard and Sheryl Fisher of Rockville; Jonathan L. Hanowell, son of Susan and Ernest Hanowell of Potomac; Geoffrey N. Konopka, son of Kathryn Newcomer and Arthur Konopka of Rockville; Andrea Paraud, daughter of German and Ana Paraud of Bethesda; Kristen L. Pompino, daughter of Joseph and Becky Pompino of Bethesda; Erin L. Rosenthal, daughter of Mark and Ellen Rosenthal of Bethesda; Abigail H. Rotman, daughter of Allan and Janice Rotman of Potomac and Margaret A. Zaiser, daughter of William Zaiser and Mary Triplett of Rockville.

Air Force Cadet Eric D. Frahm recently graduated from the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Co. Frahm, son of Steven and Mary Jane Frahm of Potomac, earned his bachelor of science degree in economics and will attend undergraduate pilot training at Moody Air Force Base in Valdosta, Ga.

Frahm is a member of the class of 1998 of Wootton High School.

Ryan M. Defibaugh, son of Diane and Craig Defibaugh of Rockville, and Tatiana S. Lagos, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Enrique Lagos of Potomac, each earned a bachelor of arts degree from Western Maryland College during their commencement ceremony on Saturday, May 25.

Mark Wernick, of Potomac, was recently elected to Alpha Omega Alpha Honor Medical Society. Wernick is a third-year medical student at UMAB and a magna cum laude graduate of Brandeis University.

Richard Wernick, of Potomac, was named to the Fall 2001 dean’s list at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill for academic excellence.

The following students received degrees at the commencement ceremony at Syracuse University's Carrier Dome on Sunday, May 12: Allison Levine, of Potomac, graduated with a bachelor of fine arts in advertising design; Christina Harper, of Bethesda, graduated with a bachelor of fine arts in illustration; Kevin Kline, of Bethesda, graduated with a bachelor of science in speech communication; Lauren Seligson, of Rockville, graduated with a bachelor of science degree in retailing; Kari Ginsburg, of Rockville, graduated with a bachelor of science degree in drama and Michael Dirkson, of Bethesda, graduated with a bachelor of fine arts degree. Dirkson also received the Edward G. Greer Award for Classic Acting on Saturday, May 11 at the college’s awards convocation.