Wilkoff is New School Board Chair

Wilkoff is New School Board Chair

School Board names Gwendolyn Lewis vice chair.

Before adjourning for the summer, the new Alexandria School Board elected Mark Wilkoff as chairman and Gwendolyn Lewis as vice chair.

"Welcome to the new Board members, welcome back to the returning Board members and I am looking forward to working with all of you for the next three years,” Wilkoff said as he began his first Board meeting as the new chairman.

The meeting was held on July 2, so that the Board could hand out committee assignments and get on with the business of running the school system for the next three years. Much of that business included thanking outgoing Board members.

“I would like to thank Susan Johnson for her years of service and especially for her work with the rookie Board members,” said new Board member Charles Wilson. “She certainly was most helpful to me.”

NEW BOARD MEMBER Kenneth Foran thanked retiring Board members V. Rodger Digilio and Stephen Kenealy. “Mr. Digilio and Dr. Kenealy are our last continuous link between appointed and elected School Boards in Alexandria,” Foran said. “They have both served this community well for a number of years and, in conducting our business, I think it is wise to look to our roots as well as around this table. I would like to thank them for their service and say that they will be missed.”

The Board also reappointed Rosemary Webb as the clerk of the Board and John Johnson as the deputy clerk. Webb has served as the clerk for the past six years.

The Board will reconvene in August at the yearly retreat, which will be held in Charlottesville this year.