Education Notebook - 06/18/03

Education Notebook - 06/18/03

Educators Honored With Leadership Awards

<bt>Thirty-eight educators and administrators from Fairfax County Public Schools have been honored with 2003 Educational Leadership Awards by the Arc of Northern Virginia and Riggs Bank in McLean. The Arc-Riggs Bank Educational Leadership Awards are given each year to educators who have made outstanding contributions to the education of students with developmental disabilities.

The 2003 Arc-Riggs Bank Educational Leadership Awards were presented to: Dee Williams, Marshall Road Elementary in Vienna; Jeanne Sampson, Angela Chappell and Suzanne Ghosh, Bush Hill Elementary in the Alexandria area; Minna Vogel, Marshall High School in Galls Church; Kathy Smitley, Shrevewood Elementary in Falls Church; Amy McDaniel, Kathleen Widmann, Tina LaMarca, Doris Dobson, Jimmy Sanabria, Pam Latt, Teresa Johnson and James Oliver, Centreville High in Centreville; Rita Kuntz, McLean High in McLean; Audra Sydnor and Kathleen Quigley, Liberty Middle in Clifton; Kristen Bosley, Pam Prevenslik and Lorene Weatherwax, Rose Hill Elementary in the Alexandria area; Maggie Gresham, Freedom Hill Elementary in Vienna; Janet McCurdy, Jennifer Mayes, Leslie Moore, Gina Pugh, Linda Brockbank, Erin Brzezicki and Kelly Keul, Bonnie Brae Elementary in Fairfax; Beth Liggett, Meghan Smith, Jennifer Kimmel and Barbara Fischi, Oak View Elementary in Herndon; Barbara Bradford, Laurel Ridge Center; Frances Janniro, Waples Mill Elementary in Oakton; Danielle Chambers and Alice Adalian, Hayfield Elementary in the Alexandria area; Cindy Lilley, Office of Career and Transition Services; and Mitch Blair, Office of Special Education Services.

The Arc is a national organization devoted to promoting and improving support and services for people with mental retardation and their families. The association also fosters research and education regarding the prevention of mental retardation in infants and young children.

<sh>Grants Workshop

<bt>U.S. Rep. Jim Moran (D-8) is hosting a grants/nonprofits workshop Monday, June 23, at 10 a.m., at George Mason High School, 7124 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church.

The workshop is intended help nonprofit organizations be aware of the federal grants process. There will be representatives from various federal agencies, including the Departments of Labor, Commerce and Education. In fiscal year 2002, the federal government awarded the Commonwealth of Virginia almost $8 billion in block grants, cooperative agreements, as well as discretionary, formula and project grants.

To register, call 202-225-4376 or visit the Web site, and download the form and fax it back to 202-225-0017.

<sh>FCPS Events Calendar

<bt>Thursday, June 19

Last day of school for modified elementary calendar Fairfax County Public Schools.

Friday, June 20

Last day of school for traditional calendar Fairfax County Public Schools.

Saturday, June 21

Lake Braddock Secondary School reunion, class of 1983. Marriott Tysons Corner, Vienna. For more information, call 800-655-7971 or on the Web,

Wednesday, June 25, 6:30 p.m.

School Board, closed meeting. Burkholder Center, 10700 Page Ave., Fairfax.

Wednesday, June 25, 7:30 p.m.

Adult and Community Education Advisory Committee meeting. Centreville Adult Center, 5775 Spindle Court, Centreville.

Thursday, June 26, 7:30 p.m.

School Board regular business meeting. Luther Jackson Middle School, 3020 Gallows Road, Falls Church.

Saturday, June 28

McLean High School reunion, class of 1992. Doubletree Tysons Corner, Falls Church. For more information, call 800-655-7971 or on the Web,

Friday, July 4

Independence Day holiday for all Fairfax County Public Schools.