Civic Organizations

Civic Organizations

One of the best ways for residents to have an impact in the county is to become an active participant in their local homeowners association. Montgomery County is honeycombed with such organizations, and virtually every residential unit in the county falls under the umbrella of one of these organizations.

To find out which particular organization an individual house falls under, contact the Park and Planning Office of Community Relations 301-495-4600.

Community Relations maintains a list of the president of each organization. However, it only updates that list when it is notified by the organization of a change in the leadership, so the information is not always current. If the information it provides is out of date, the best option is to contact others in the neighborhood.

West Montgomery County Citizens Association

P.O. Box 59335

Potomac, MD 20859

Web site:

WMCCA aims to protect the environment; perpetuate animal and bird habitats; encourage low density, controlled growth and confined commercial areas; and support the goals of the 2002 Potomac Subregion Master Plan.

* Officers

President (as of fall 2004): Carol Falk

President Elect: Ginny Barnes

Immediate Past President: George Barnes

Vice President: Susanne Lee

Treasurer: C.O. North

Secretary: Betsi Dahan

Newsletter Editor: Lois Williams

Directors: Barbara Boykin Diana Conway, Scott Bender, Elie Pisarra-Cain, Jonathan Burnworth, Mark Barnes, Karl Buschmann and Angela Dolginow.

Western Montgomery County Citizens Advisory Board

Bethesda-Chevy Chase Services Center

4805 Edgemoor Lane

Bethesda, MD 20854


Web site: See


With 15 members, the Western Montgomery County Citizens Advisory Board advises the director of the Bethesda-Chevy Chase Services Center, the county executive and the County Council on issues such as transportation, human services, land use, the environment and public safety.

The Advisory Board represents Potomac, Bethesda-Chevy Chase, Garrett Park and North Bethesda. Meetings take place at 7 p.m. on the third Monday of every month except on holidays and in August.

* Business Representatives

Tony Barclay Jr. (chair), Arlene Begelman, John C. Alexander, William Kominers, Robert F. Hemphill Jr.

* Residential Representatives

Diana Conway (chair), Jeffrey Balkind, Geoffrey C. Cook, Julian Mansfield, Thomas Murphy, Sandra-Lee El-Haj, Renee J. Kotz, John Wing, Paul M. Tiao, Alan M. Freeman

North Potomac Citizens Association

P.O. Box 4216

North Potomac, MD 20885-4216


Web site:


The North Potomac Citizens Association represents community concerns for recognition from the County Council, county executive and other governmental agencies. It also deals with issues such as land use, transportation, recreation, commerce and the environment.


President: Jonathan Putnam

First Vice President: James Grant

Second Vice President and Web Master: Dave Lee

Secretary: Dave Lee (acting)

Treasurer: Mike Hughes

Directors: Sandy Liu, Pete Poggi, Drew Powell, Marisa Miller, Robert Riddle