Town Campaign Season Begins

Town Campaign Season Begins

The election season in Herndon is now in full swing. Town residents will be asked to vote for a new mayor and six council members May 4.

The field is a crowded one, with three people — Councilwoman Connie Haines Hutchinson, Councilman Michael L. O'Reilly, and former Council member and current Planning Commissioner William B. Tirrell Sr. — seeking to fill the mayor's post being vacated by Richard Thoesen when his term expires in June.

In addition, 12 individuals are looking to be selected for six Town Council seats, including three incumbents. The Town Council candidates are: Ralph J. Beard, Philip B. Brooks, incumbent Carol A. Bruce, Mani B. Fierro, incumbent Dennis D. Husch, David A. Kirby, Joel F. Mills, Steven D. Mitchell, Ann V. Null incumbent J. Harlon Reece, Carl I. Sivertsen, and Darryl C. Smith.

Three candidates have already announced campaign kick offs:

* O'Reilly's event is slated for Thursday, March 11, 6:30-8 p.m., at the Herndon Municipal Center lobby. Casual attire is suggested and refreshments will be provided by JJ Deli.

* Mills' kick off is Saturday, March 13, beginning at 2 p.m., at the Herndon caboose downtown. Immediately afterwards a kickoff party will take place his campaign headquarters at 902 First Place, three blocks from the caboose.

* Tirrell, will be kicking off his campaign, Sunday, March 14, 1-4 p.m., at the Tortilla Factory, 648 Elden St.