College notes

College notes

The following Springfield residents were named to the dean's list at Virginia Tech for the fall 2003 semester: Paul Arthur, Sunki Bodiford, Tina Highfill, Pierre Martel, Patrick McGarvey, Carla Minard, Naoum Anagnos, Durand Bunker, Zahra Radjavi, Adam Wysocki, Ho Yu, Marc Dizon, Stephen Donohoe, James Eckman, Joon-Taek Lee, Kathleen McDevitt, Nicholas Pecoraro, Raymon Rauch, Justin Watkins, Krystle Young and John Yowell. To qualify, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade point average on a 4.0 scale during the semester.

Virginia Tech student Catherine Sydney Matthews of Springfield is one the students who volunteer as a Eucharistic Minister in Virginia Tech’s Newman Community. Since 1924, the Newman Community is the Catholic Campus Ministry of Virginia Tech, serving more than 5,000 Catholic students.

Virginia Tech student Robert Meyers of Springfield serves as a volunteer student member of the Virginia Tech Rescue Squad. The Virginia Tech Rescue Squad provides emergency medical services to students, faculty, staff and visitors on the Virginia Tech campus 365 days a year. An organization run entirely by student and community volunteers, the squad responds to more than 700 calls a year and provides Advanced Life Support (ALS) care utilizing two ALS-equipped ambulances and one Basic Life Support response vehicle. Squad members are trained and certified by the Virginia Office of Emergency Medical Services as Emergency Medical Technicians.

Kirby Bevis, a sophomore majoring in accounting at James Madison University, was named to the dean's list for the fall semester. She has also been nominated for membership in the JMU chapter of the National Society of Collegiate Scholars. Bevis is a 2002 graduate of West Springfield High School.

Caithlin Gorman, a resident of Springfield, was named to the fall 2003 dean's list at American University, Kogod School of Business. Gorman is majoring in Business Administration.

Aminah Kakeh, a resident of Springfield, was named to the Fall 2003 dean's list at American University, School of International Service. Kakeh is a sophomore majoring in International Studies.

Julie Issa, a resident of Springfield was named to the fall 2003 dean's list at American University, School of International Service. Issa is a junior majoring in International Studies.

Amalie Nañoz of Springfield is graduating from the Corcoran College of Art & Design on Saturday, May 15. She is receiving a bachelor of fine arts degree in fine arts. From May 5-17, Nañoz's artwork from her senior thesis project is displayed in the college exhibition space within the Corcoran Gallery of Art, as part of the All Senior Exhibition.

Jeffrey A. Evey of Springfield was given the Mathematics Research Award from the department of Mathematics and Statistics at James Madison University. Jeffrey is the son of Walker and Virginia Evey.