Local Heroes Honored

Local Heroes Honored

Twelve members of the Sheriff's Office were among those recognized Tuesday, March 29, at the 2005 Valor Awards ceremony at the Lansdowne Resort in Leesburg.

SGT. PRINCE HEARNS, Deputy First Class Todd Smedley, Deputy James Cannon, Deputy Timothy Willingham received a Unit Citation for their efforts in a recent assault on an officer.

On Dec. 27, 2004, while conducting a routine security check, Deputy Kevin Ware observed a Leesburg Police officer struggling with an arrestee and immediately called for assistance. Willingham, Cannon, Smedley and Hearns came to the aid of the officer in distress, subduing the arrestee and preventing a potentially more serious situation from occurring.

LT. CHARLES RICHARDSON, Lt. Perry McCartney, Deputy First Class Henry Moser, Deputy Jason Newlin, Deputy Charles Turner, Deputy April Gorman, Deputy John Donohue were recognized for their efforts during an attempted suicide at the Adult Detention Center.

On Jan. 7, 2004, Moser and Gorman observed an inmate with a sheet tied around her neck, hanging from the top part of her cell bars. Moser immediately called for assistance and he and Gorman attempted to lift the inmate upward. Newlin and

Turner arrived, assisting in the efforts to lift the inmate while Donohue cut the sheet away from the bars. Nurses Vicky Ware and Osterholtz began a successful resuscitation effort.

SHERIFF'S DEPUTY TERRY DAVIS was recognized for a Lifesaving Award along with Loudoun County Fire & Rescue member Jerome Swain, and Laurie Swain of the Top of Virginia Search and Rescue.

On Sept. 4, 2004, while training bloodhounds in a rural mountain valley, a fellow trainer was stung by a bee and went into anaphylactic shock. Upon witnessing the event Jerome Swain secured airway management equipment and Benadryl. Jerome Swain, Laurie Swain and Terry Davis helped position the victim so he could breathe easier, gave him a dose of Benadryl and instructed a neighbor to dial 911.

ALSO RECOGNIZED at the event were members of the Leesburg Police Department, personnel from Loudoun County Fire & Rescue and several county residents.

The Loudoun County Valor Awards program awards were established by the Loudoun Chamber of Commerce, in conjunction with the local public safety agencies, to recognize and acknowledge members of the various public

safety departments, as well as everyday citizens, who have placed themselves in harm's way over the past year to ensure the safety of others.