Teacher of the Year Named

Teacher of the Year Named

Victoria Lascomb, described as a compassionate teacher who treats her students as family, has been selected as Loudoun County’s 2005 Teacher of the Year.

Lascomb, who teaches first grade at Evergreen Mill Elementary School in Leesburg, was the 22nd recipient of the Agnes Meyer Outstanding Teacher Award, sponsored by the "Washington Post." She received the recognition Tuesday night at the School Board meeting.

Her voice shaking, she said, “The rewards we get in teaching, I can’t imagine any other career.”

She was selected from 16 nominees. The finalists were Denise Wingfield, a biology teacher at Dominion High School in Potomac Falls, Kenneth David Keller, band director at Stone Bridge High School in Ashburn and Jim Jenkins, a fifth-grade teacher at Mountain View Elementary School in Purcellville.

SCHOOL BOARD Chairman John Andrews presented certificates to the finalists as Ron Dyer, director of Elementary Education, read a list of accolades.

The "Washington Post" will present $3,000 to Lascomb and honor her during a ceremony this spring. Jilliam Sigmon, a teacher who has had two children in Lascomb’s first grade, said her colleague "sets a strong foundation that will carry them through the rest of their schooling. …. They become better, stronger people for having the opportunity of being a ‘Lasky’ team member.”

School counselor Jeannie Brent described Lascomb’s teaching style. “She uses a variety of teaching techniques to motivate her students and is able to find just the right technique that will reach those who seem to be unreachable,” Bent said.

Heather Jensen, a former student, is studying to become an elementary teacher. “This teacher made a tremendous impression upon my life,” Jensen said. “It was through this teacher that I decided what I wanted to do — to become an elementary teacher. Her spirit and kindness made learning fun and exciting.”