People Notes

People Notes

<i>Send announcements to The Herndon Connection, 7913 Westpark Drive, McLean, VA 22102, e-mail to or fax to 703-917-0991. Deadline is two weeks before the event. Photos/artwork encouraged. Call Jean Card at 703-917-6437, with questions.

This free listing is reserved for activities and events that are open to the public at no or minimal cost.</i>

The Virginia Society of Certified Public Accountants (VSCPA) Educational Foundation recently awarded $25,000 in accounting scholarships to 16 Virginia college and university students for the 2005-2006 academic year.

To qualify for a VSCPA undergraduate or minority undergraduate scholarship, recipients must have completed a minimum of three credit hours of accounting course work, be enrolled in three additional accounting credit hours and have an accounting GPA of 3.0. Jennifer Tom of Herndon and student at the University of Virginia McIntire School of Commerce, received the Minority Undergraduate scholarship.

For more information on the VSCPA Educational Foundation and its scholarship and award programs, visit, e-mail or call 1-800-733-8272.

Ninety-five junior and senior high-school students from across the commonwealth have been selected to participate in this year's Governor's School for Agriculture to be held at Virginia Tech on July 3–30.

Suzanne Lee and Stephanie Woo of Herndon will attend the Governor’s School for Agriculture. Lee and Woo attend Westfield High in Fairfax County.

The one-month summer residential program for gifted students interested in agriculture and natural resources will provide hands-on, cutting edge, scientific and academic instruction to future leaders and scientists. The program, established in 2001, is designed to develop their understanding of the scope, opportunities, and challenges through academic and scientific rigor in the broad fields of agriculture, human health, natural resources, and natural sciences.

Tatyana Shmuts of Herndon is one of 98 students at the University of Mary Washington in Fredericksburg named to the university's President's List for the spring semester of the 2004-05 academic year. Shmuts is a rising junior at the University of Mary Washington.

The President's List recognizes outstanding academic achievement at the university by full-time students who attain a perfect 4.0 grade-point average.

The following Oakton and Herndon students have been named out of 643 students at the University of Mary Washington in Fredericksburg to the university's Dean's List for the spring semester of the 2004-2005 academic year. The Dean's List recognizes outstanding academic achievement at the university by full-time students who attain at least a 3.5 grade-point average on a 4.0 scale.

* Hayley Amey, rising junior

* Matthew Baker, rising senior

* Miranda Gentry, rising junior

* Annalisa Grimes, rising senior

* Daniel Hardesty-Dyck, rising junior

* Amanda Hartman, 2005 graduate

* Christopher Kinter, rising senior

* Elizabeth Kuhl, rising senior

* Katherine Mernin, 2005 graduate

* Mashvash Mujahid, rising junior

* Lauren Shumate, rising junior

* Amy Thornton, 2005 graduate

Jay McCarthy of Herndon was elected Grand Knight of Good Samaritan Council 6175, Knights of Columbus for 2005-2006, succeeding John Thomas of Sterling. Other officers elected include Neil McDonnell, deputy grand knight; Steve Rogers, chancellor; John Reaser, warden; Joe Belzile, recorder; Len Grus, treasurer; Don Harris, advocate; Bob Griffin, outside guard; Dan Cahill, inside guard; John Thomas, three-year trustee; and Mike Zavala, financial secretary. McCarthy and Thomas were elected delegates to the K of C Virginia State Council and convention. McDonnell and Rogers are alternate delegates. The newly elected slate of officers assumed their offices on July 1.

Elizabeth Chuba of Herndon was named to the Honor's List under an honorable mention at Roanoke College in Salem, for earning between a 3.00 and a 3.49 GPA for the 2004-2005 school year. She is the daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Thomas Chuba of Herndon. Roanoke College is a co-ed liberal arts college with 1,700 students — the second-oldest Lutheran-related college in the nation.