People Notes

People Notes

Send announcements, which are open to the public at no or minimal cost, to The Loudoun Connection, 7913 Westpark Drive, McLean, VA 22102, e-mail to or fax to 703-917-0991. Deadline is Friday, two weeks before the event. Photos/artwork encouraged. For more information, call Matthew Razak at 703-917-6457. For additional listings, visit

Ashburn resident Dr. John W. Ryan has been named chair of the Northern Virginia Community College Board for the 2006-2007 term. Ryan, who represents Loudoun County on the board, is completing his second four-year appointment. This is the first time he has served as chair.

More than 70 golfers joined the Lupus Foundation of Greater Washington (LFGW) Oct. 2 at its 28th annual fund-raiser at the Belmont Country Club to benefit the nonprofit's public education and support programs for local lupus sufferers. The event raised more than $75,000 to support the local nonprofit's public education and support programs.

Daniel P. Lyon, a principal, director and executive committee member of the law firm of McCandlish & Lillard, was named among the Greater Washington Legal Elite by "Washington Smart CEO Magazine." He was recognized in the category of Labor and Employment Law and Commercial Litigation. "Washington Smart CEO" listed 60 lawyers, who were chosen by nominations from their peers, CEOs, industry experts and clients. The list was published in the magazine’s August 2006 issue.

Priyanka Gogia, a student at Briar Woods High School, was selected as a People to People student leader and will attend an international summit in London, Brussels and Paris. All students accepted into the program must meet academic and leadership requirements. She was nominated and accepted based on outstanding merit, civic involvement and leadership potential. The program brings students together from around the world to focus on leadership and international relations.

Deana Johnston, a 2003 graduate of Park View High School, is pursuing a bachelor of science at Radford University, in the area of elementary education and has received the following honors since admission into Radford University: Alpha Lambda Delta Member (2004), National Society of Collegiate Scholars (2004), Kappa Delta Pi (2005), Phi Kappa Phi (2006), overall GPA 3.8 and major GPA 4.0.

Johnston has also been on the National Dean's list and Radford University Dean's List for the past five semesters. She is in her senior year and is student teaching in Montgomery County. She is scheduled to graduate in May of 2007.

Loudoun County Administrator Kirby M. Bowers has been selected as the Public Administrator of the Year by the Marsh Institute for Government & Public Policy at Shenandoah University. The Marsh Institute's public service recognition program honors those who have outstanding careers in the public sector and encourage others to emulate them. Bowers has been employed with the Loudoun County government since November 1977, when he was hired as an assistant to the county administrator. He became the county's first budget director in 1982, was promoted to assistant county administrator in 1988, and to deputy county administrator the following year.

Bowers was honored at the Marsh Institute's Annual Public Service Awards Banquet, Oct. 24.

Benjamin J. Boxler graduated from the Army ROTC (Reserve Officer Training Corps) Leader Development and Assessment Course, also known as "Operation Warrior Forge," at Fort Lewis, Tacoma, Wash.

Cadets in their junior and senior year of college must complete the leadership development course. Upon successful completion of the course, the ROTC program, and graduation from college, cadets are commissioned as second lieutenants in the U.S. Army, National Guard or Reserve.

The cadet is a student at Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach, Fla.

He is the son of Benjamin J. and Donna L. Boxler of Leesburg. Boxler is a 2003 graduate of Stone Bridge High School, Ashburn.

Kristin Lamir, of Ashburn, has been named a Eucharistic minister for the 2006-2007 school year at Virginia Tech. The Eucharistic ministers are associated with the Newman Community, the Catholic Campus Ministry of Virginia Tech. They operate as a mission outreach of the Diocese of Richmond. Located on Otey Street near the Virginia Tech Campus, the Newman Center is open to all.