People Notes

People Notes

Send announcements, which are open to the public at no or minimal cost, to The Loudoun Connection, 7913 Westpark Drive, McLean, VA 22102, e-mail to or fax to 703-917-0991. Deadline is Friday, two weeks before the event. Photos/artwork encouraged. For more information, call Matthew Razak at 703-917-6457. For additional listings, visit

The following Ashburn-area students enrolled at Virginia Tech were named to the Dean's List for the fall 2006 semester. To qualify, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade point average during the semester.

Katie J. McWilliam, Courtney R. Nolan, Kenneth B. O'Connor, Julia B. Richberg, Sahil Talwar, Dane N. Van Norden, Joshua C. Adams, Kelian E. Baker, Jason P. Cadwell, Nadia F. Dawood, Chelsea M. Feist, Jessica R. Gallegos, Andrew W. Harclerode, Rebecca R. Layman, Benjamin Y. Leonard, Michael G. Lukas, Andrew L. Lyford, Matthew R. Meroney, Nathan T. Nelson, Carl R. Quesnell, Jesse N. Robeson, Lucy R. Robeson, Herbin F. Rodriguez, Amy K. Sarver, Katherine K. Skipp, Patrick T. Summers, Bonnie L. Bailey, Stefanie M. Bartholic, Patrick A. Boebinger, Matthew R. Catlett, Evan A. Chapple, Christine L. Clark, Jennifer L. Crane, Ravi R. Dadhania, Jessica A. DeShazo.


The following Sterling-area students enrolled at Virginia Tech were named to the Dean's List for the fall 2007 semester. To qualify, students must attempt at least 12 credit hours graded on the A-F option and earn a 3.4 grade point average during the semester.

Umar A. Aziz, Nicholas J. Baldi, Nancy A. Ballhagen, Jeremy R. Berg, Lindsay E. Berg, Kirsten E. Bernhards, Krystina M. Cocco, Elizabeth L. Dye, Tyler C. Dye, Thomas N. Easton, Nathan B. Entsminger, Warren L. Glismann, Jarri Hasnain, Denise C. Hommel, Allison M. Jarnagin, Jamie E. Leidelmeyer, Lane R. McNally, Megan E. Meidlinger, Paul A. Milotte, Jacqueline V. Nguyen, Jason W. Pilchuk, Michael A. Schaefer, Jamie L. Sinclair, Veronica M. Skinner, Vladimir S. Smirnov, Whitney L. Svensson, Michael J. Woods, Alyssa A. Yassine, Yusuf A. Abugideiri, Andrew J. Augustin, Tiffany A. Baracat, Robert D. Bowen, Kelly E. Brannock, Douglas B. Brenner, Kacie L. Brosious, Alexandra J. Butt, Lauren M. Butt, Chelsey T. Cooper, Chloe A. Csadenyi-Benson, Zachary M. Dana, Michael G. Diaz, Katherine E. Jonesl, Lisa M. Kaiser, Curtis R. Kobelski, Wright H. Lewis, Christopher B. Lockhart, John D. Medlock, Nathan M. Milaszewski, Alexandra K. Moses, Nahed Najmyar, Narges Najmyar, Delaney R. Parrish, Morgan L. Rezac, Anna A. Riabtsev, Marc A. Saint Raymond, Mandy L. Tehaan, Kristina M. Velarde, Sean C. Wilson, Victoria A. Wilson, Michael C. Fella.

Jonathon Malycke, son of Dan and Joy Malycke of Purcellville, has received appointments to the United States Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md., and the United States Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, Co. He received a nomination to the Air Force Academy by U.S. Sen. John William Warner (R) of Virginia. U.S. Rep. Frank Wolf (R-10) nominated Jonathon to the Naval Academy and the United States Air Force Academy.

Malycke will graduate from Notre Dame Academy of Middleburg, Va., in June. While taking five advanced placement courses his senior year and maintaining a 4.0 average during his high-school career, scored in top 95 percent in Virginia and U.S. on SATs, Jonathon has also given 25 hours of community service per year, was president of Science Club, co-captain of the golf team, National Honor Society member and a 2007 Presenter for the Greater Washington, D.C. Area Junior Science & Humanities Symposium at Georgetown University. He has attended the Naval Academy and Air Force Academy 2006 summer seminars, was an American Legion Boys State of Virginia delegate and Boys Nation finalist, played varsity baseball, junior varsity basketball and varsity golf.

The Loudoun Academy of the Arts announces the addition of Michael Davis to its faculty of professional art instructors.

Davis will teach “Painting the Still Life,” a class that explores the techniques of the great masters as well as the materials they used. Starting with a still life, he emphasizes the fundamentals of painting as he instructs participants to block and mass in their compositions and then use glazes to refine the painting.

Davis graduated from Shepherd University with an MFA in Painting and then attended the Schuler School of Fine Art in Baltimore, Maryland. His work is in private and public collections throughout the U.S.

Del. Thomas Rust (R-86) has been honored by the Virginia Foundation for Research and Economic Education, known as “Virginia FREE.” The group is comprised of business representatives from a variety of industries and from all regions of Virginia. Each year, Virginia FREE issues evaluations of incumbent legislators based on a number of criteria. Del. Rust’s 2006 Cumulative Business Rating was 76, which places him among the top 10 in the Virginia House of Delegates. In the Effectiveness category, Rust scored a 67, which places him 12th in effectiveness out of the 100 members of the

House of Delegates. Rust was also recognized for a bill he introduced that Virginia FREE found especially important, dealing with municipal waste regulations.

Gov. Timothy M. Kaine (D) appointed Marguita K. Brooks of Loudoun County to the Governor's Motorcycle Advisory Council.

4-H members in Loudoun County participated in a public speaking and presentation contest Saturday, Feb. 17. The following members who took home top honors: Mary Beth Mitchell with her presentation on How to Make Lavender Bath Salts in the Junior Division and Samantha Sweitzer with her presentation on Your First Pet Rabbit Care and Keeping in the Senior Division.

Suzanne Szanyi of Broad Run, Cheryl Tait of Ashburn, and Bethany Blackwell of Ashburn were selected as Hokie Ambassadors for Virginia Tech's Office of Undergraduate Admissions. Hokie Ambassadors is an all-volunteer student organization that provides tours for prospective undergraduate students and their families, log hundreds of volunteer hours in support of undergraduate admissions at Virginia Tech.

La Voz of Loudoun, a 501 (c)(3) community-based nonprofit organization, has been awarded a $25,000 grant from Loudoun County government to hire its first executive director, Middleburg resident Michelle McKnight. Raised bilingual and bicultural in the Republic of Panama, McKnight has a wealth of experience bridging Spanish and English-speaking cultures. A trained translator and interpreter, she holds a master's degree in Spanish Language and Literature from the American University in Washington, D.C.

Shannon Groves, 16, of Ashburn, was named one of two of Virginia's top youth volunteers for 2007 by The Prudential Spirit Community Awards, a nationwide program honoring young people for outstanding acts of volunteerism. As a state honoree, Groves will receive $1,000, an engraved silver medallion and a trip in May to Washington, D.C., for several days of national recognition events.

Groves, a senior at Broad Run High School, has been testing the water quality of local ponds and streams every month since June 2004 to determine their pollution levels and provide useful information to governmental water-management agencies. She was nominated by her school.

Renae Smith of Sterling was been named to the Dean's List with High Distinction, for students with a GPA between 3.85-4.0, at Grove City (Pa.) College. She is the daughter of Lt. Col. John and Jana Smith. She graduated from homeschooling in 2004.