School Notes

School Notes

<i> Send School Notes to <a></a>. Deadline is Friday.</i>

Students at Chesterbrook Elementary will meet with crew members from the aircraft carrier U.S.S. Carl Vinson on Friday, Oct. 10, at 8 a.m. The crew members, all of whom are multimedia specialists, will be interviewed by students on the school's television station and will share multimedia techniques with the students as well as demonstrate new information technology equipment. The students also plan to establish a pen pal program with the crew members. Chesterbrook has a partnership with Vinson Hall Retirement Community, home to military veterans and their spouses, which is currently involved in an oral history program with the crew of the USS Carl Vinson. Contact Principal Bob Fuqua at 703-714-8200 or

Friends of Vale Schoolhouse Annual Fall Fair on Oct. 18, from 11 a.m.-3 p.m., on the corner of Vale and Fox Mill Roads in Oakton. Children's games, moonbounce, pony rides, shopping, used books and toys, food, drinks and a bake sale. All proceeds benefit the upkeep of the historic schoolhouse. Free admission and parking. Friends of Vale Schoolhouse monthly meeting on Oct. 14 at 7 p.m.

Piper Edwards of Vienna has graduated with a bachelors degree in art from Pacific University of Oregon in Forest Grove, Oregon.

Zachary Groff of McLean and a student at Georgetown Day School in Washington D.C., has been named as a 2009 National Merit scholarship semifinalist.

Brian Rita of Vienna has been named to the spring 2008 dean’s list at George Mason University. Rita is an information technology major, and a 2006 graduate of Bishop O'Connell High School. Rita is the son of Fred and Virginia Rita of Vienna, and grandson of Virginia McGavin of Vienna and George and Patricia Rita of Alexandria.

Andrew T. Osinbajo of Westfield High School in Chantilly has been named a semifinalist in the 2009 National Achievement Program.

Two McLean students, Olukemi O. Adegoroye of the Madeira School, and Stacey L. Manjong of McLean High School, have been named as semifinalists in the 2009 National Achievement Program.

Nia A. Roberson of Oakton High School in Vienna has been named a semifinalist in the 2009 National Achievement Program.

Praveen Kumar Dasari of McLean has been awarded a master of science degree in liberal arts and sciences from Northern Illinois University.

Kristin N. Loadwick of McLean has received a bachelor of science degree in liberal studies from Clarion University of Clarion, Penn.

The Reston Community Players Teen Ensemble class registration is open through Oct. 15, for classes beginning Saturday, Nov. 8. or 703-435-2707.

Forestville Elementary teacher Kristen Sloan's alter ego, Perfectly Perplexed Priscilla, appears on the school's afternoon news program on Mondays to present problems that require students to use critical thinking and problem solving skills. Students have until the end of their lunch period on Wednesday to solve the problem; Priscilla appears on the show on Thursday to credit the students who answered the problem correctly and to explain the answer. Separate questions are posed for the primary and elementary grades. Along with the weekly questions are quarterly competitions. For the first quarter of the 2008-09 school year, teams of students are challenged to design and construct an aluminum foil boat, no larger than 6 x 6 inches, which will then compete against other boats to see which boat can hold the most paper clips.

The Washington International Chorus is looking for experienced singers with least intermediate sight-reading abilities who can blend well with other singers and can quickly learn music. Traditional works, folk and indigenous tunes, new works and more. Rehearsal on Thursdays from 7-9 p.m. at George Mason High School, 7124 Leesburg Pike, Falls Church. 202-739-9620 or

Several Fairfax County Public Schools students have received certificates for superior writing in the 2008 Achievement Awards in Writing by the National Council of Teachers of English. Each participant submitted a sample of his or her best writing in any form or genre as well as an impromptu essay on a predetermined subject. For 2008, 1,789 juniors submitted portfolios; of that group, 525 were selected for the Achievement Awards. The local winners are:

Michael Poandl of Chantilly High School.

Kenneth Burchfiel and Chelsea Sparta of McLean High School.

Matthew Johnson of Oakton High School.

Sarah Applegate, Carolyn McCallister and Emma Pierson of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology.