Schools, Jan. 21-27

Schools, Jan. 21-27

The League of Reston Artists (LRA) announced the opening of their 2009 scholarship program. The scholarships are open to aspiring artists who are seniors at any Fairfax County high school. Applicants must be an art/photography student at his/her high school and must have applied to, or been accepted at, an art school or program at a college or university, for the summer or fall 2009 term. Completed applications must be received by the LRA at P.O. Box 2513, Reston, VA 20195-2513 by Feb. 28. Visit for details.

Learn about secondary school options at a free seminar Wednesday, Feb. 25, 7-8:30 p.m. at South Lakes High School, 11400 South Lakes Drive, Reston.

Lake Anne Elementary School’s Positive Behavior Support Team wrote and received a $500 mini-grant from VDOE Training and Technical Assistance Center at George Mason University for Effective School-Wide Discipline. This grant is to help purchase materials to support this school-wide initiative to reduce discipline issues and improve the support for students. Also, Lake Anne received a $485 Johnie Forte, Jr. memorial Grant to help the students create a recycling project at school. The funds will be used to purchase an industrial scale in order for the students to weigh their recycling efforts as a part of a school-wide initiative. Students will keep track of the trees they save by recycling paper, reinforcing math skills along the way.

Gov. Timothy M. Kaine announced that 162 Virginia public schools have earned the 2009 Governor’s Award for Educational Excellence. The award is the highest honor under the Virginia Index of Performance incentive program created by the Board of Education to advance Governor Kaine’s "competence to excellence" agenda to encourage advanced learning and achievement in the Commonwealth’s public schools. Sunrise Valley Elementary was among those awarded. Last year, 89 schools received the award.

The Lake Anne Elementary First Lego League team, The Sea Monsters, won first place in robot performance at the state championship tournament held at James Madison University. Team members: Steven Anderson, Andrew Barrett, Ryan Barrett, Patrick Keefer, Joshua Kobayashi, Julia Morgan, Mia Rickenbach, Natalie Schauer, Amaani Sirajuddin, and Brentan Walter. The team is coached by Wally Walter, John Barrett, Kim Schauer and Siraj Sirajuddin.