2009 WAMMIE Awards on Sunday, Feb. 28, 2010

2009 WAMMIE Awards on Sunday, Feb. 28, 2010

The 24th Annual Wammies Award Show is Sunday, Feb. 28 at 8 p.m. at The State Theatre in Falls Church. Tickets are $35/non-WAMA Member, $20/WAMA Members, and $15/nominees.

Note that tickets are general admission, and do not guarantee a seat, except for sponsor/patron tables. To purchase tickets or for more info on sponsor/patron tables go to: www.wamadc.com, or call 703-368-3300.

This year's WAMA performers Include: Afro Bop Alliance, Bela Dona, Tabi Bonney, Martí Brom, Elikeh, Hotspur, Patty Reese Band, Rosslyn Mountain Boys, and The Dede Wyland Band. Seth Kibel & the DC Time Machine will be the pit band.

The pre-Wammie VIP Reception with The Esther Haynes Group, sponsored by the Falls Church News-Press, will be held at Argia's, Falls Church.

An After-Event Party with Jr. Cline and the Recliners will be held at Bangkok Blues, Falls Church, starting at 11:30 p.m.

Each year, members of the Washington Area Music Association (WAMA) shine the spotlight on local musicians and music organizations who have achieved significant accomplishments within their field. Awards will be given in the following categories: A Cappella, Big Band/ Swing, Bluegrass, Blues / Traditional R & B, Cabaret / Musical Theater, Children's Music, Choral, Classical, Country, Electronica, Folk - Contemporary, Folk - Traditional, Go Go, Gospel / Inspirational, Jazz, Latin, Rap / Hip Hop, Reggae, Modern Rock, Pop Rock, Roots Rock, Urban Contemporary, and World Music.

Awards will also be given for Musician of the Year, Song of the Year, Artist of the Year, New Artist of the Year, Album of the Year and more. The Songwriter of the Year award is co-sponsored by the Songwriters Association of Washington (SAW). For a full list of the nominees, go to: http://wamadc.com/wama/wammies/wnoms24.htm.

John Hall and The Rosslyn Mountain Boys will be inducted in the Hall of Fame.

The Special Appreciation Award will be presented to Cerphe Colwell.