West Springfield Heads All-State Baseball Team

West Springfield Heads All-State Baseball Team

Charlie Morgan, Bobby Wahl and John James received additional personal accolades to accompany their 2010 state championship.

The West Springfield trio, which swept Northern Region Player, Pitcher and Coach of the Year honors, respectively, headlined the 2010 AAA All-State baseball team.

The senior Morgan, headed to Wake Forest, was named state Player of the Year and a first-team selection as a designated hitter. The senior Wahl, headed to Ole Miss, was a first-team selection as a pitcher. James was named state Coach of the Year.

The Northern Region had 10 other players receive honorable mention or better.

Lake Braddock had three players recognized, led by first-team shortstop Ryan Lindemuth. The senior is headed to William and Mary. Senior Bobby Klein (William and Mary) was a second-team selection as a utility and junior Kenny Towns received honorable mention at third base.

McLean senior Riley Beiro (Virginia Tech) was a first-team outfielder, T.C. Williams senior Matt Kilby (Navy) was a second-team outfielder, Centreville senior Cam Walter (VMI) and earned second-team honors at first base. Centreville senior Connor Back was an honorable mention outfielder, McLean senior Chris Russo received honorable mention at second base and South County junior Mike Perez was an honorable mention choice at catcher. McLean senior Sean Fitzgerald (Notre Dame) received honorable mention as a pitcher.