0
Votes

Get To Know Elected Officials

County Council

— Potomac residents live in County Council District 1, and are represented by Councilmember Roger Berliner (D-1) as well as the four at-large councilmembers, Marc Elrich, Nancy Floreen, George Leventhal and Hans Riemer. All nine members of the current Montgomery County Council are Democrats.

Roger Berliner

240-777-7828

councilmember.berliner@montgomerycountymd.gov

Marc Elrich

240-777-7966

councilmember.elrich@montgomerycountymd.gov

Nancy Floreen

240-777-7959

councilmember.floreen@montgomerycountymd.gov

George Leventhal

240-777-7811

councilmember.leventhal@montgomerycountymd.gov

Hans Riemer

240-777-7964

councilmember.riemer@montgomerycountymd.gov

Mail: Montgomery County Council

100 Maryland Ave.

Rockville, Md. 20850

Phone: 240-777-7900 (voice)

240-777-7914 (TTY for hearing impaired)

240-777-7888 (fax)

Legislative Information Services: 240-777-7910

Listen to Live Council Sessions and Committee Meetings: 240-773-3377

www.montgomerycountymd.gov/council

County Executive

County Executive Ike Leggett (D) is the top elected official in Montgomery County.

Dial 311, or email ocemail@montgomerycountymd.gov

Executive Office Building

101 Monroe Street, 2nd Floor

Rockville, MD 20850

Maryland General Assembly

Potomac is split between two state legislative districts, 15, which includes much of the upcounty, and 16, which includes Bethesda and Chevy Chase. Each district has one senator and three delegates. All members of the Montgomery County delegation to the Maryland General Assembly are Democrats.

Maryland's existing districts were adopted in 2002. The redistricting process began with the Census count in spring of 2010. It will continue with public hearings, review and analysis of proposed plans and eventual adoption of revised districts. They will be in place in time for the Congressional primary of 2012 and the State Legislative Election of 2014.

http://mlis.state.md.us/

DISTRICT 15
Sen. Robert J. Garagiola (D)

James Senate Office Building, Room 104

11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3169, 301-858-3169

e-mail: rob.garagiola@senate.state.md.us

Del. Kathleen M. Dumais (D)

House Office Building, Room 101

6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3052, 301-858-3052

kathleen.dumais@house.state.md.us

Del. Brian J. Feldman (D)

House Office Building, Room 350

6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3186, 301-858-3186

brian.feldman@house.state.md.us

Del. Aruna Miller (D)

House Office Building, Room 225

6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3090, 301-858-3090

aruna.miller@house.state.md.us

DISTRICT 16
Sen. Brian E. Frosh (D)

Miller Senate Office Building, 2 East Wing

11 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3124, 301-858-3124

brian.frosh@senate.state.md.us

Del. C. William Frick (D)

House Office Building, Room 219

6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3454, 301-858-3454

bill.frick@house.state.md.us

Del. Ariana B. Kelly (D)

House Office Building, Room 210

6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3642, 301-858-3642

ariana.kelly@house.state.md.us

Del. Susan C. Lee (D)

House Office Building, Room 414

6 Bladen St., Annapolis, MD 21401

410-841-3649, 301-858-3649

susan.lee@house.state.md.us

Montgomery County Board Of Education

There are seven members of the Montgomery County Board of Education, plus a student member. Two members serve at-large, while the other five members live in their geographic districts. But all members are elected county-wide, and serve staggered terms. Members of the Board of Education are non-partisan and elected without identifying as belonging to any political party.

Montgomery County Public Schools Carver Educational Services Center

850 Hungerford Drive, Room 123

Rockville, Maryland 20850

Phone: 301-279-3617

Fax: 301-279-3860

E-mail: boe@mcpsmd.org

(All messages sent to this address will be automatically copied to all Board members.)

Christopher Barclay, District 4

Current President

301-431-7736

Fax: 301-279-3860

Christopher_Barclay@mcpsmd.org

Shirley Brandman, At-Large

Vice President

301-320-6564

Fax: 301-320-6563

Shirley_Brandman@mcpsmd.org

Philip Kauffman, At Large

301-924-3133

Fax: 301-924-3134

Phil_Kauffman@mcpsmd.org

Judith Docca, District 1

301-670-3234

Fax: 301-670-3235

Judy_Docca@mcpsmd.org

Laura Berthiaume, District 2

301-279-1261

Fax: 301-279-1262

E-mail: Laura_Berthiaume@mcpsmd.org

Patricia O'Neill, District 3

301-320-7600

Fax: 301-320-7601

Patricia_O'Neill@mcpsmd.org

Michael A. Durso, District 5

301-924-3169

Fax: 301-924-3171

Michael_A_Durso@mcpsmd.org