CVHS Sports Notebook (May 16)

CVHS Sports Notebook (May 16)

Numerous Wildcat lacrosse players earn all-district accolades.

TRACK AND FIELD: The Wildcats competed in two local invitational meets to close out their regular season. The team hosted the inaugural Centreville Freshman Track Classic on Saturday evening, May 12. The home team had success in several events. Freshman hurdler Lisa Dinschel led the way with a first place finish in the 100-meter hurdles, which she paired with a second place finish in the 100-meter dash. Also in the girl's events, Maggie Pelletier and Amber Assadi placed second place and third place, respectively, in the 400-meter dash. McKinsey Smith won the 800-meter run and jumper Seo Hee Im placed second in the triple jump and third in the long jump. In the boys' events, Bryson Hawkins placed third in the 100-meter dash, Mike Bishop placed second in the 400 dash, Bobby Dunn won the 800-meter run and Landon Egbers placed first in the 3200 meter run.

Earlier in the day, the Wildcat upperclassmen competed in the TJ Penultimate Experience at Thomas Jefferson High School in Alexandria. For the girls, junior Sydney Evans achieved a personal-best time to take home a second place finish in the high jump. Sara Emsley continued her successful senior year with a second place finish in the discus. Sophomore Maryn Wood won the 200-meter dash with a personal-best time of her own. For the boys, junior Mike Wright ran a personal- best in capturing the 400-meter dash; junior Alex Marmol finished third in the same race, also achieving a personal-best time.

GIRLS LACROSSE: The following Centreville High girls' lacrosse players were recently named to the All-Concorde District Teams: Hayley Anderson, Senior (First Team Midfield); Reagan Newell, Freshman (First Team Attack); Carly Sane, Junior (First Team Midfield); Katherine Zempolich, Sophomore (First Team Defense); Caroline Wakefield, Freshman (First Team Midfield); Brooke Peterson, Junior (Second Team Defense); Danielle Smith, Junior (Second Team Defense); Ayana Teran, Senior (Second Team Goalie); Caroline Bollman (Honorable Mention Attack); Brynn Doyle (Honorable Mention Defense).

BOYS LACROSSE: The following Centreville High boys' lacrosse players were named to the All-Concorde District Teams: Zack Sikora (Midfield); Andy Balberde (Midfield); Nathan Marks (Midfield); Antonio Choi (Defense); Pat Prosser (Goalie).

Wildcats head coach Jed Williams was named the Concorde District Coach of the Year. Zack Sikora was named the Concorde District Player of the Year.

CENTREVILLE HIGH PRINCIPAL Mike Campbell will be honored at a Principal's Retirement Open House on Tuesday evening, May 29 from 6-9 p.m. at the Centreville High Media Center. The special event is being hosted by the Centreville High PTSA. Please join the Centreville High community in thanking Principal Campbell for his vision and leadership and to wish him well in his retirement.