Mount Vernon School Notes

Mount Vernon School Notes

Caroline T. Kelly has been named to first honors on the Clark University dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester.

Emory University presented degrees to the following people: William Ford, who received masters of public health; Christina Heddesheimer, who received a doctor of law degree; Michael Howell, who also received a doctor of law degree; and Meghan McCullough, who received a doctor of medicine degree.

Brooks Eaton has been named to Lawrence University’s dean’s list for the spring 2013 semester.

The following area students graduated from Mercyhurst University this past May: Gregory Rouson with a master of science in applied intelligence and Joseph Thessin with an associate in science in liberal arts.

Nine Alexandria residents graduated from Radford University at the end of the spring semester. Earning Bachelor of Science degrees were Stephen Andrew McFarland, psychology; Tewodros Degefu Desta, biology; Kristin Ashley Kayes, political science; Charlotte Patricia Warrington, communication; Emily Sohyoung Besse, media studies; and Megan Marie Maple, interdisciplinary studies. Earning a Bachelor of Art degree was Andrew Spencer Williams, art. Earning a Bachelor of Administration degree was Andrea Michelle Laplace, history. Earning Bachelor of Business Administration degrees were Stephanie Carolyn Cockayne, finance; and Emily Sohyoung Besse, marketing.

The following students have been admitted to Hampden-Sydney College: Logan Durwood Leathers III who will enter with a president’s award; Kurt David Anderson who will enter as a Patrick Henry Scholar; and Scott Michael Bellamy, Nicholas David Fletcher, Javier Ernesto Landaverde, Steven Dino Ponce, and Henrik Lars Anderson Jr. who will all enter with alumni awards.

The P.E.O. STAR Scholarship, for the 2013-2014 academic year, was presented to Sonia Francone, who has been accepted and will attend Sewanee: The University of the South, in the fall. The P.E.O. STAR Scholarship is a $2,500 scholarship based on excellence in leadership, extracurricular activities, community service, academics and potential for future success.

Cristina Chilstrom was a recipient of the dean's award for academic excellence during the 2013 spring term at Colgate University.