School Notes

School Notes

Saint Timothy Catholic School’s yearbook program has been named a 2013 Jostens National Yearbook Program of Excellence by Jostens, a leading producer of yearbooks. Jostens recognizes dynamic school yearbook programs and yearbook staff who work hard to create and engaging yearbook.

Elizabeth Kurowski has been named to the 2013 spring semester dean's list at Ohio Wesleyan University.

Students attending Randolph-Macon Academy have been recognized for athletic achievement during the 2013 spring sports season: Andrew Criminski, received the Most Improved Player Award for his performance on the varsity track team. Griffin Duy received 1st Team, All-Delaney Athletic Conference honors for his performance on the varsity baseball team

Andrew Criminski has been inducted into Randolph-Macon Academy's chapter of the National German Honor Society.

The following academic awards were given out at Chantilly High School for the following students. Career and Technical Education: Kelly Sohee Chung (Outstanding Business Student), Jacob Andrew Rosenthal (Outstanding Technology Education Student). English Department Awards: Hannah Katherine Boehlert, Jack Henry Skopowski, Katherine Talbot Scott. Cornell Club of Washington Book Award: Jacob Samuel Payne. Harvard Prize Book Award: Megan Hue Lieu. Randolph College Book Award: Elizabeth Anne Cymerman. Smith College Book Award: Amanda Catherine Mason. Wellesley College Book Award: Ciana Elizabeth Deveau. Mathematics Department Awards: Cynthia Jing Zhuang, Robert John Guglielmino, Julie Elizabeth Estrada. Rensselaer Polytechnic Award: Pragati Prakash Rohra. Performing Arts Department Awards: Alice Lingpei Wang, Mia Elizabeth Rickenback, Amanda Catherine Mason. Physical Education Department Awards: Nancy Jannette Ramos, Ryan Boyd McGorty. Science Department Awards: Alice Lingpei Want, Jeffrey Zhengua Li, Clayton Wells Keating. University of Rochester, Bausch & Lomb Award: Michelle Tran. Social Studies Department Awards: Davina Eunice Miaw, Jack Henry Skopowski, Julie Elizabeth Estrada. Outstanding Work In American History Award: Julie Elizabeth Estrada. Visual Arts Department Awards: Jennifer Paige Freret, Shijia (Scarley) Zhao, Emily Victoria Bishop. World Languages Department Awards: Gopal Raju Hari (Outstanding Latin Student), Brian James Morris (Outstanding German Student), Katherine Talbot Scott (Outstanding French Student), Kayla Beth Blatman (Outstanding Spanish Student). Randolph College Classics Book Award: Sai Teja Bondalapati. Governor’s Language Academy (Latin): Gopal Raju Hari. Foreign Exchange Students Recognition: Gerui Cao and Ina Feistenauer. Boy’s/Girl’s State: Peter Malander, William Rambin, Megan Toole. Governor’s School: Prudvi Arabandi (Math, Science Technology), Siddharth Balakrishnan (Math, Science Technology), Brooke Johnson (Visual & Performing Arts), Megan Lieu (Humanities), Amanda Mason (Visual & Performing Arts), Erin McDermott (Visual & Performing Arts), Mia Rickenbach (Visual & Performing Arts.) William and Mary Leadership Award: Katharine Talbot Scott. Fairfax County School Board Character Award Nominee: Katharine Talbot Scott.

Tenequa Howard of Chantilly High School, Jason Lee of Fairfax High School, and Christine Oh of Westfield High School have accepted honors scholarships awarded by Northern Virginia Community College. The scholarships were awarded to local high school students and cover the cost of in-state tuition, books, supplies and travel abroad for two years of study. This is the first time the college is offering such scholarships to incoming students.

This year all Chantilly High School students will read “Peak” by Roland Smith for their summer reading assignment. “Peak” is the story of Peak Marcello, a 14-year-old Manhattan boy who is obsessed with mountain climbing. When his habit of free-climbing skyscrapers makes him a media sensation and gets him arrested, he is given a choice: go to juvenile detention or leave the country for a while. The One Book program is designed both to encourage reading in the summer months and to foster a sense of community in the school and beyond through sharing this exciting adventure story.

Tenequa Howard, of Chantilly High School, and Christine Oh, of Westfield High School, have accepted honors scholarships awarded by Northern Virginia Community College. The scholarship covers the cost of the student earning one degree at the College. Scholarship winners are enrolled in NOVA’s Honors Program, an enriched path of study for highly motivated students.