MWAA Honors Carl Sandburg Middle School Artists

MWAA Honors Carl Sandburg Middle School Artists

The Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority recognized the semifinalists and winners of its annual “Carl Sandburg Middle School Student Energy Conservation Poster Artwork Contest.”

The gala to honor the finalists and to announce the winners was hosted by MWAA at the historic Terminal A building at Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport on Jan. 31. In attendance were the semifinalists as well as their families and friends. The artworks of all the semifinalists were on display.

The manager of Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport, .J Paul Malandrino, Jr. presided over the event, which was organized by Aida Velasques, energy conservation poster coordinator for MWAA. Carl Sandburg Vice Principal Tara Charity introduced Carl Sandburg Middle School art teachers Sandie Sorenson and Justin Gaudenzi to present the semifinalists and announce the winning artists.

The 7th grade semifinalists were: Saad Aziz, Amanda Bassett, Andrew Campbell, Anna Capper, Gabby Clautice, Ashlyn Hendrix, Anna Ten Hoopen, Maeve Jarvis, Kaylie Kopicki, Katelyn McNamara, Joel Perez Rasado, Josie Sara, Jane Sullivan, Natalie Terwilliger, Claudia Theriot and Abbie Weissman.

The 8th grade semifinalists were: William Agyin, Jesaline Benitez, Saman Fatima, Jackie Finnegan, Hailey Galyon, Kayla Gilchrist, Cory Jones,Maham Khurshid, Emma Klein, Fiona O’Reilly, Adam Plofker, Erin Rockwell, Lily Shin, Isiah Smith and Colin Wong.

There were three winners from each grade. The seventh grade winners were: Natalie Terwilliger (1st), Josie Sara (2nd) and Abbie Weissman (3rd). The eighth grade winners were: Erin Rockwell (1st), Maham Khurshid (2nd) and Lily Shin (3rd).

The six winning artworks were selected by judges from the MWAA. The six winning entries were made into posters to be posted throughout Ronald Reagan Washington National Airport by MWAA as a part of their effort to encourage airport employees to conserve energy. The artworks of all the semifinalists will be on display in the historic main Terminal A building for a year.