Longfellow Model UN Team Wins Secretary General’s Award

The Longfellow Middle Model United Nations (Model UN) team recently won the secretary general’s award for Best Middle School Delegation and three Outstanding Delegation awards at the TechMUN conference held at Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology (TJHSST). Thirty-four delegates tackled issues including establishing and extending global nuclear free zones, international drug trafficking, and concerns about genetically modified organisms. Working collaboratively, the delegates helped develop workable resolutions to these issues. Outstanding Delegation awards went to: Giancarlo Valdetaro and Nate Buchanan representing Turkey on the Disarmament and International Security Committee; Takehiro Mochizuki and Clara Fontaine representing Germany on the Social, Humanitarian, and Cultural Affairs Committee; and Blue Miller and Stephen Palathingal representing the Russian Federation on the United Nations Environment Programme Committee. Charlotte Sununu and Rebecca Rice, representing Germany, earned the Best Delegate Award. Honorable Mentions went to Dan Qi and Henry Wu representing the Russian Federation, Kareem Al-Attar and Fatima Shahbaz representing Turkey, and Kelsey Gilchrist and Jennifer Saxenian, representing Egypt. A Verbal Commendation award was given to Alex Brunner and Thomas Vaccaro, representing Cuba. Delegates include Arman Khan, Camille Richter, Alex Marwaha, Musa Haji, Haru Kato, Arthur Browne, Sneha Dass, Mariam Alkateb, Isabel Cooper, Caroline Nguyen, Caroline Kim, Patrick DeMatties, Alex Kim, Grace Yang, Sneha Kripanandan, Jack Kelly, Ethan Wu, and Isabel Delgado. Social studies teacher Stephanie Haley sponsors the team.