Reston Swim Team Association Opens 42nd Season

Reston Swim Team Association Opens 42nd Season

Emily Landeryou and Madeline LaPorte race to a one-two finish for Glade in the girls’ 50-meter butterfly event.

Emily Landeryou and Madeline LaPorte race to a one-two finish for Glade in the girls’ 50-meter butterfly event. Photo contributed


The boys’ 50-meter butterfly event gets off to a good start, with (from left) David Clark swimming for Glade and Robby Cordts, Conor McBride, and John Hughes swimming for Lake Audubon.

With thunderstorms affecting several practices in the two weeks leading up to the Reston Swim Team Association’s opening weekend, many wondered if the season was off to a rough start. But opening day dawned bright and cloudless and the swimmers got off to a blazing start with several swimmers setting new times for team and league records.

“Beautiful weather welcomed another great RSTA season and all meets went very smoothly,” said RSTA President Karen Marginot. “Congratulations to all, with special congratulations to new record holders.”

A swimmer to watch this season is Tyler Ellis of Glade, who set a blistering pace for the 13–14 boys by setting four new records on June 7. He set a new league record in the 13–14 50 butterfly, breaking the record set by Adam Orton of Ridge Heights (27.87) that has stood since 1995, with a new time of 27.66, which also set a new Glade team record. Ellis also set a new record in 13–14 50 freestyle with a time of 25.88, breaking his own record from last year. His fourth new record was in the 13–14 50 backstroke, breaking Jonathan Christensen’s record from 2005 by more than a second with a time of 30.83.

Ellis’ brother, Hunter, set the pace in the 11–12 age group, with two new records of his own. He set a new Glade team record in the 11–12 50 backstroke with a time of 34.86, beating Jonathan Christensen’s time from 2003 of 35.18. In the 11–12 50 butterfly, Hunter beat his brother’s record from 2012 of 33.53 with a new time of 31.86.

Newbridge swimmer Ryan Ha also set a new team record in 13–14 50 backstroke with a time of 30.74, beating his own record set during the All-Star meet last summer.

The Lake Newport Lightning 6–18 200 free relay team of Greta Larne, Meghna Sharma, Anna Redican, Emi Redican, and Katie Storch broke a record set in 2012 with a new time of 2:08.38.

Lake Newport Lightning 653, Ridge Heights Sharks 465

For Lake Newport, triple-event winners were Jack Edgemond, Dylan Jones, Anna Redican, Emi Redican, Sean Redican, Siena Shannon, Casey Storch, and Alan Yu. Double-event winners were Bridget Brennan, Shihao Cao, Jeffrey George, Ingrid Larne, Dan Ni, Joseph Redican, Grant Romero, and Zach Wang.


Suya Haering of Lake Audubon and Kaitlin Mahon of Glade show their good sportsmanship after competing in the girls’ 8 and under 25-meter backstroke.

For Ridge Heights, triple-event winners were Hailey Brown and Grace Qian. Double-event winners were Edith Chaddock, Ian Champney, Remington Curren, Delaney Duchak, Christina Calbraith, Julia Thomas, and Tara Thomas.

Lake Audubon Barracudas 622, Glade Gators 468

For Lake Audubon, triple-event winners were Robby Cordts, Sabrina Groves, Katie Harris, John Hughes, and Nicolas Sobenes. Double-event winners were Sasha Avilov, Max Daum, Essex Finney, Asa Gurney, Ben Harris, Juana Hernandez, Nicolas Hernandez, Tyler Macaluso, Olivia Nielsen, Sophia Randall, Griffin Scanlan, and Sara Wolfe.

For Glade, triple-event winners were Hunter Ellis, Tyler Ellis, Emily Landeryou, Sophia Landeryou, and Jem Nims. Double-event winners were Anna Byrd, Rachel Heatherly, Lindsey Hirshfeld, Clara Landeryou, and Joseph Letteri.

North Hills Hurricanes 562, Hunters Woods Blue Marlins 471

For North Hills, triple-event winners were Arjuna Bazaz, Brenna Emery, Alyssa Gilbreath, Lindsey Hill, Joseph Sciortino, Samantha Sciortino, and Amy Wang. Double-event winners were Devan Fink, Ishan Ganjoo, Ryan Hill, Benjamin Livaudais, Emily Ren, Renzo Sanio, Page Schiavone, Sarah Sciortino, James Wu, and Evan Zhang.

For Hunters Woods, triple-event winners were Matthew Beach, Nolan Dunkel, and Ashley Nobles. Double-event winners were William Harvey, Hope Hill, Jonah Medler, Logan Nasr, Eric Tang, Katie Vintimilla, William Zao, and Roger Zeng.

Newbridge Dolphins 610, Autumnwood Piranhas 412

For Newbridge, triple-event winners were Elise Baldwin, Jean-Claude Guille, Ryan Ha, Colin Huddleston, Sam Joyner, Taelor Oey, and Lily Schaller. Double-event winners were Emma Grossback, Ian Ha, Calvin Kalinowski, Christian Kalinowski, Eva Lossos, Daevin Oey, Abby Panneck, Taylor Panneck, Claire Schaller, Emma Schaller, Megan Slater, Savine Soltys, and Emily Sun.

For Autumnwood, triple event winners were Sophia Kennedy, Vikrant Mahajan, and Luke McDermott. Double event winners were Curtis Bushee, Toren Greenfield-Tuthill, James Lyon, Kalista Majoros, David Nelson, and Michael Norford.