Arlington Politics: Public Officials Support Cristol

Arlington Politics: Public Officials Support Cristol

Twenty elected officials, comprising all of Arlington’s School Board, Constitutional Officers and Richmond delegation, and the majority of the County Board, endorsed Katie Cristol’s campaign for Arlington County Board.

Citing Cristol’s policy background, community experience and new perspective, Arlington’s longstanding leaders are supporting her bid for one of two open seats on the County Board this year.

All five of Arlington’s current School Board members, including Chair Emma Violand-Sánchez, Vice Chair Nancy Van Doren, Barbara Kanninen, James Lander and Abby Raphael have endorsed Cristol for her commitment to education and the Arlington Public Schools.

Four of Arlington’s current County Board members, including Libby Garvey, Jay Fisette, Chair Mary Hynes and Vice Chair J. Walter Tejada, have also shared their support for Cristol.

In addition, all of Arlington’s five Constitutional Officers, including Treasurer Carla de la Pava, Commissioner of Revenue Ingrid Morroy, Sheriff Beth Arthur, Clerk of the Court Paul Ferguson and Commonwealth’s Attorney Theo Stamos, are endorsing Cristol’s campaign.

Arlington’s State Senators and Delegates are also backing Cristol, citing the valuable partnership she will offer for their work in Richmond. “I enthusiastically endorse Katie Cristol for the Arlington County Board,” said state Sen. Barbara Favola of the 31st District. Favola is joined in her support of the Cristol campaign by state Sen.Adam Ebbin of the 30th District, state Sen. Janet Howell of the 32nd District, Del. Patrick Hope of the 47th District, Del. Rip Sullivan of the 48th District and Del. Alfonso Lopez of the 49th District.