<lst>Send your organization's announcement to The Loudoun Connection, 7913 Westpark Drive, McLean, VA 22102, e-mail to or fax to (703) 917-0991. Deadline is two weeks before publication. Photos/artwork encouraged. Questions? Call Michael O'Connell at 703-917-6449.

Tom Kuehn was awarded the National Capital Area Council Venturing Leadership Award at the recent Rendezvous 2002 event which took place in Front Royal, Virginia on April 20. Dr. Kuehn is the Advisor of Venturing Crew 1981 in Potomac Falls and serves as the Goose Creek District vice chairman and assistant district commissioner for Venturing. The Venturing Leadership Award is the highest recognition for adult venturing leaders awarded by the Council, Region, and National BSA.

Local Boy Scout Stephen Nielsen became the first scout in the Goose Creek District to be awarded BSA's highest conservation award, the William T. Hornaday Award, for his efforts in natural resource conservation. Similarly, Troop 761 became the first Boy Scout Troop in its District to receive the Hornaday Unit award. Nielsen received his award for creating bat habitats and homes at three sites in Sterling. Troop 761 received its award for creating a wetlands study area and supporting the bat habitat program.

The Hornaday Award is the nation's oldest conservation award, dating back to 1914. Dr. William Hornaday was a pioneer in wildlife conservation. He helped found the National Zoo in Washington D.C. and went on to found and lead the New York Zoological Society for more than 20 years before becoming the Chief Taxidermist for the Smithsonian Institute. He is generally credited with saving the American bison and other wildlife species from extinction.

Since the inception of the award, fewer than 1,200 medals have been awarded. Hornaday developed this awards program to recognize Scouts and Scouters who undertook and completed truly exceptional conservation projects and he established demanding standards, believing that only the most outstanding accomplishments deserved recognition.

Thirteen Charter Organizations representing many of the Goose Creek District Cub Scout packs, Boy Scout Troops, and coed Venturing Crews met recently at Leesburg Presbyterian Church for the BSA Goose Creek District Annual Meeting to review the year and elect a new slate of district members at large. The district members will go on to take specific positions or roles in the

committee to further provide activities and training to help Scouting in Loudoun County. Dave Parker was elected the new district chairman. Drew Mrenna was recommended by the charter organizations to be a approved at the NCAC Annual meeting as the new district commissioner. Parker, Mrenna and the new members at

large will be installed at the upcoming District Banquet. Retiring district chairman Ed Yarbrough was nominated by NCAC leadership to become the area vice president of Virginia West, which covers the Goose Creek, Sully, Bull Run, and Piedmont districts.