Supervisors' Tone Changes for '05

Supervisors' Tone Changes for '05

Minority receives more votes on committees, but vice chairman continues to control most of chairman's original duties.

It was with the spirit of reconciliation that the Board of Supervisors opened the new year with its first business meeting Jan. 4.

It was a marked change from the first meeting of 2004, when the recently elected Republican majority introduced a slew of new agenda items that including stripping Chairman Scott York (I-At large) of most of his duties and awarding them to Vice Chairman Bruce Tulloch (R-Potomac).

The new majority also had removed less conservative supervisors York, Sally Kurtz (D-Catoctin) and Jim Burton (I-Blue Ridge) from many committee positions. York was not named to a single committee in 2004; and thus the board kicked off what York called "a contentious year."

When the supervisors passed the rules of order for 2005, the new organization places York on two committees: the Public Safety Committee and the newly formed Human Services Committee.

The Land Use Committee, formerly chaired by Supervisor Stephen Snow (R-Dulles), has been assimilated into the Transportation committee. Snow will now chair Human Services.

"I think this is going to tie in very nicely with the Loudoun Youth Initiative," Snow said.

Snow also alluded to the deaths of two teens in South Riding earlier this week, the result of an apparent suicide pact.

"We ought to do a little better at reaching out to people," he said.

WHILE THE MINORITY on the board voiced their appreciation at the attempts at reconciliation, a few points still riled them: the appointment of Supervisor Eugene Delgaudio (R-Sterling) as chair of the Finance/Government Services Committee, for one.

Burton had many reasons to oppose Delgaudio's nomination, he said.

"I won't go into all the reasons why," he said, "but I assure you I have a lot of them."

"Welcome to the finance committee, Mr. Burton," Delgaudio responded.

Kurtz voiced her disapproval of Tulloch continuing to handle the chairman's duties, even though York was elected as chairman by the citizens.

"I think no matter the personalities involved, a process of voting for the chairman that covers the entire county did give the traditional duties to the chairman," Kurtz said.

But she supported the package in general.

"I think the creation of the Transportation/Land Use Committee is an extremely good idea," Kurtz said.

Board of Supervisors Committees for 2005

All meetings take place at the Government Center at 1 Harrison St., S.E., Leesburg.

* Economic Development Committee: Lori Waters, chairman; Jim Burton; Bruce Tulloch. Meets fourth Tuesday of the month at 5 p.m.

* Finance/Government Services Committee: Eugene Delgaudio, chairman; Bruce Tulloch; Lori Waters; Mick Staton; Jim Burton. Meets first and third Tuesday of the month, 15 minutes following the conclusion of the Board of Supervisors business meeting.

* Public Safety Committee: Jim Clem, chairman; Bruce Tulloch; Scott York. A permanent meeting schedule has not been decided, but the next meeting will be held on Jan. 24, at 6:30 p.m.

* Human Services Committee: Stephen Snow, chairman; Bruce Tulloch; Scott York; Jim Clem; Sally Kurtz. Meets third Wednesday of the month at 6:30 p.m.

* Transportation/Land Use Committee: Mick Staton, chairman; Stephen Snow; Eugene Delgaudio; Lori Waters; Sally Kurtz. Meets fourth Monday of the month at 1 p.m.