People Notes April 15-21

People Notes April 15-21

To have engagements, weddings, obituaries, or other significant personal events listed in The Arlington Connection, e-mail or fax to 703-917-0991. Deadline is 2 p.m. the Thursday before publication. Call Rebecca Halik at 703-917-6407. Photos are welcome.

Brian Stickel from Arlington will be running in the 113th Boston Marathon to save lives as a participant in the 20th running of the Dana-Farber Marathon Challenge (DFMC).

Virginians for the Arts (VFTA) announces members of the board of directors newly elected for three-year terms:

Susan Lavrakas, Arlington, directs government relations at BAE Systems, a global aerospace company. She worked in the defense industry for Northrop Grumman Corporation for nearly two decades. Active in her Northern Virginia community, she serves on the board of the Theatre of the First Amendment at George Mason University and on the board of the Mason Summer Festival. She is past chairman of the board of the Fairfax Choral Society.

John R. Maxwell, Chairman and CEO of John Marshall Bank, appointed Sonia Nga Johnston as a regional president for Arlington County.

Lorraine Arora has been promoted to branch vice president of Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage in Arlington.

Edgar Dobie is the new managing director of Arena Stage. With roots in non-profit theater management in the U.S. and Canada, Dobie is a Tony Award-winning commercial producer who will begin with Arena Stage at the end of March.

Arlington Public Schools has named the seven 2009 Support Employees of the Year. These employees have been recognized for their unwavering commitment, hard work and dedication to APS. This year’s Support Employees of the Year are:

Classroom Assistants (A-Scale): Mery Luz Molina – HILT Resource Assistant, Long Branch Elementary

Cafeteria Staff (C-Scale): Angela W. Hillman – Food Service Worker (Cook), Kenmore Middle School

Bus Drivers (D-Scale): Hal T. Miller – Bus Driver

Exempt Support Staff (E-Scale): Mary Conklin Callow – Activities Coordinator, Gunston Middle School

Administrative Support Staff (G-Scale): Mary Payne – Principal’s Assistant, Carlin Springs Elementary

Maintenance & Operation Staff (M-Scale): Fernando Castro – Custodial Building Supervisor, Wakefield High School

Extended Day Staff (X-Scale): Carla Williams Powell – Extended Day Supervisor, Key Elementary School

Arlington Superintendent Dr. Robert Smith will join the College of Education and Human Development faculty as an associate professor of education in the fall of 2009.

David Lloyd Jr. of Weichert, Realtors’ Arlington Office, was honored for regional awards in February. Lloyd Jr. led the region in resale revenue units.

In conjunction with Social Work Month – March 2009, the National Association of Social Workers Virginia Chapter (NASW-VA) announced the recipients of its 2009 Annual Awards:

* Catherine M. Nolan of Arlington was named the Social Work Lifetime Achievement Award recipient for a 33-year career working on behalf of children and abuse prevention including her current work as the director of the Office on Child Abuse and Neglect within the Department of Health and Human Services.

* Kay L. Carter of Alexandria was named the MSW Social Work Student of the Year for her academic achievements at Virginia Commonwealth University in addition to the work she’s done on behalf of foster children with the Fairfax County Child Abuse Prevention Program.

Margaret Bergan Davis, a longtime leader of non-profit organizations and a decorated supporter of Marine families, was named the president and chief executive officer of the Marine Corps Scholarship Foundation.