School Notes

School Notes

Abingdon Elementary School received an award for its animation video at the eight annual Shortie Awards: Student Film and News Festival. Abingdon's animated video, "The Lost Colony" was selected from a pool of almost 400 entries from 23 states and 13 countries on June 6, at the Women in Military Service for America Memorial in Arlington.

Over 3,000 students and teachers worked on entries that originated from places as near as Fairfax and Arlington, to as far away as Cuba, Western Europe, Finland, Denmark, the United Arab Emirates, Kenya, and India. All participants receive a certificate of participation and a judges' letter containing professional feedback on their entries.

In addition, Barrett Elementary School was a runner up in the Live Action category with "Spaghetti Monster: A Spaghetti Western" and Hoffman Boston was a runner up in the Live News category.

Ian Phillips, a member of the class of 2011 at Connecticut College and a resident of Arlington, has been named to the dean's list for the 2009 spring semester.

Phillips achieved Dean's Honors.

Vazken Zerounian of Arlington made the dean's list at the Widener University School of Law.

Margaret Serrano of Arlington received her Juris Doctor (law degree) from Widener University School of Law on May 16.

Tuckahoe Elementary School special education teacher Robin Andersen received the Outstanding Special Education Teacher award from the National Association of Special Education Teachers. The award recognizes teachers from across the country who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the field of special education.

Marymount University announced that junior Dariya Atanasova, an international student from Bulgaria who is majoring in Business Administration with a focus on Accounting, has been named a McGowan Scholar by the William G. McGowan Charitable Fund Inc.

Kathleen Elizabeth Beringer of Arlington graduated from Villanova University during a commencement ceremony held on Sunday, May 17, in Villanova Stadium. Beringer earned the degree of Bachelor of Arts in Political Science Magna Cum Laude .

Lauren Gradowski, Class of 2012 at Skidmore College, earned highest honors for the spring semester. She is the daughter of Leonard Gradowski of Arlington, and Rebecca Mann of Bridgeville, Delaware.

Jessica Brewster Oxley of Arlington made the Dean's List at Wofford College for the Spring 2009 semester.

Maggie Serrano of Arlington received the Graham Foundation Award at the Widener University School of Law, given annually to a student whose demonstrated commitment to the Moot Court Honor Society and intellectual excellence deserves exceptional recognition. She also received the William J. Conner Memorial Award for Administrative Law, given to a graduating student who demonstrates academic excellence, especially in administrative law, and an interest in public service. Serrano is married to SSG Angel Serrano. Her professional plans involve serving in the U.S. Army Active Duty JAG.

The following Arlington students received bachelor's degrees during the University of Vermont's 205th Commencement ceremonies on May 17: Meredith Bessette, a bachelor of arts in women's & gender studies; Cristina Haines, a bachelor of arts in religion, and Matthew Gough, a bachelor of arts in psychology.

The University of Scranton conferred graduate degrees to

Christine M. Arocho of Arlington, a master of science in educational administration, and Ashley Lloray of Arlington, a master of science in curriculum & instruction.

Madeleine Besch of Arlington, a Spanish major from the College of the Holy Cross class of 2009, has been named a North American Language and Culture Assistant by the Spanish government to teach English in primary, middle and high schools throughout Spain.

Alexander George Kolt, a rising senior at Hampden-Sydney College, was named to the dean’s list for the second semester of the 2008-2009 academic year. Alex is a graduate of Potomac School and is the son of Mrs. George Kolt of Arlington.

Gregory K D'Addario of Arlington was named to the dean's list at Roanoke College for the spring term. He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Paul W. D'Addario of Arlington.

Three Arlington seniors have been named 2009 National Merit Scholarship Corporation winners. The students have earned $2,500 scholarships, joining 2,500 other students from around the country to receive similar recognition. The students are:

∑ Stephanie D. Hunt from Yorktown High School. Hunt’s probable career field is medicine.

∑ David Wu from Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology. Wu’s probable career field is also medicine.

∑ Eric W. Young also from Yorktown. Young’s probable career field is higher education.

The $2,500 scholarship awards that each student received are supported by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation’s own funds.

Brett Anders, a senior from Arlington who attends Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology, will receive a National Merit corporate scholarship from Accenture, LLP.

Thirteen APS students have been invited to attend the summer residential Governor’s Schools for academics, mentorship and visual and performing arts, and 10 students have been invited to attend the Governor’s Foreign Language Academies. Arlington students participating in the Governor’s Schools are:

H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program: Carolyn Grant, Arts; Brian McGrail, Humanities; Tessa Andrew, Humanities, and Matthew deButts, Humanities.

Wakefield High School: Nitin Passa, Math/Science/Technology.

Washington-Lee High School: Caroline Birasa, Humanities; Anna Brosnahan, Math/Science/Technology; Hannah Dannenfelser, Humanities; Thomas Miotke, Arts; Samuel Passaglia, Humanities, and Nathaniel Root, Math/Science/Technology.

Yorktown High School: Philip Baraoidan, Arts, and Emma Rodvien, Virginia Institute of Marine Science.

Foreign Language Academy students include:

H-B Woodlawn: Emily Cope, French; Alexandra Gustafson, German, and Kelsey Momoi, Japanese.

Wakefield: Laura Razzuri, Arabic.

Washington-Lee: Valerie Dugie, Latin, and Tiphaine Monroe, Chinese.

Yorktown: Kelsey Coia, Latin; Virginia House, Arabic; Lindsey Hunt, French, and Julia Meadows, Latin.

Positions available as teen apprentices with the Levine School’s Summer Music and Arts Day Camp at Westover Baptist Church in Arlington. For those entering 7th grade and above. Apply at

Our Savior Lutheran School is now accepting applications for the 2009-2010 school year. There are openings in kindergarten through eighth grade. The school is located at 825 S. Taylor Street in Arlington. Call 703-892-4846 for further information or to schedule a tour. Visit

Arlington resident Nancy Aracely Flores was named to the fall 2008 dean’s list at The University of Virginia’s College at Wise.