School Notes

School Notes

— Vocal musicians from 14 Fairfax County public schools have been named to the Virginia Honors Choir for 2012. Three students were named alternates. The students will perform at the Virginia Music Educators Association convention Nov. 17 at the Homestead in Hot Springs. The following Chantilly High School students were selected for the 2012 Virginia Honors Choir: James Baker, Wesley Coleman and alternate Henry Hutchinson.

Fairfax County Public Schools student publications earned high marks from the Virginia High School League’s publications evaluation services. Publications evaluated were from the 2011-12 school year. Earning top marks in the Trophy Class were (adviser’s names are in parentheses):

  • Newspaper Division: The Purple Tide, Chantilly High School (Bretton Zinger); and The Watchdog, Westfield High School (Anthony Whitten).

  • Yearbook Division: Odyssey, Chantilly High School (Mary Kay Downes); and The Guardian, Westfield High School (Anthony Whitten).

The following publications earned first place recognition:

  • Magazine Division: Andromeda, Chantilly High School (Bretton Zinger); Calliope, Westfield High School (Todd Kelly).

The Music Department of Paul VI Catholic High School in Fairfax is pleased to announce the induction of the following students into Tri-M, the National Honor Society for Music Students:

  • Colin Hermes, a sophomore.

  • Hyunsoo Jang, a junior.

  • Nicole Kirk, a sophomore.

  • Katherine Manalo, a sophomore.

All inductees have maintained a GPA of 3.5, submitted resumes, submitted essays on the importance of music in their lives, and performed a musical selection for a panel of judges comprised of the Tri-M board members. Students were inducted on Oct. 30 at Paul VI.

Fairfax County Public Schools (FCPS) student journalists were honored for their work on student publications at the Journalism Education Association (JEA)-National Scholastic Press Association (NSPA) fall convention held last weekend in San Antonio.

Publications recognized with NSPA Best of Show awards included:

  • Odyssey, Chantilly High School, in Yearbook 325 or more pages. Elizabeth Graviano, editor; Mary Kay Downes, adviser.

  • Chantilly High School English and journalism teacher Mary Kay Downes received the Medal of Merit Award for making significant contributions to scholastic journalism.

Emily Morris of Oak Hill, was recently inducted into the Fall 2012 class of Flagler College's circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, a national organization honoring students for leadership.

Trevor Brown of Chantilly graduated from Coastal Carolina University on Dec. 15 He received a bachelor of science in business administration degree in management.