Sandburg Scholar Society Hosts Inaugural Ceremony

Sandburg Scholar Society Hosts Inaugural Ceremony

Principal Terrence Yarborough and Shelby Pierson.

Principal Terrence Yarborough and Shelby Pierson. Photo Contributed.


From left are Dominick Heratsch, Justin Shelton and Jack Prater.

Parents, staff, and 62 students gathered on Monday, June 9, to celebrate the first induction of the Sandburg Scholar Society at Carl Sandburg Middle School.

The Sandburg Scholar Society recognizes students for outstanding scholarship, character, leadership, and service. The Society is a school organization run without bylaws and governed only by the expectations set forth by its sponsors under the leadership, directives, and pleasure of the school administration.

The induction ceremony consisted of a welcoming address, statement of purpose, and words of encouragement from the administrative staff. Students were also recognized for their ambitious service learning endeavors whereas the scholars collectively acquired over 322 hours in the areas of community, academic and school service. During the ceremony, three student speakers inspired attendees with their heartfelt speeches as they expressed their dedication to their school and local community.

Students were officially inducted by receiving their membership certificates and getting a congratulatory handshake from Principal Terrence E. Yarborough. The ceremony concluded with a short reception and fellowship among the Sandburg Scholars and their families.