First Latino, Nepali Herndon Town Council Members Elected

First Latino, Nepali Herndon Town Council Members Elected

Mayor Lisa C. Merkel re-elected; voters oust three-term Councilmember Grace Cunningham.

In the Nov. 6, 2018 General & Special Elections Town of Herndon, the current Fairfax County unofficial Election Results show that mayoral incumbent Lisa C. Merkel received 5,825 votes retaining her position for the Jan. 1, 2019-Dec. 31, 2020 term. Merkel ran uncontested.

For the six available seats on the six-member Herndon Town Council, incumbent Sheila A. Olem topped vote-getters with 4,288 votes. Challenger Cesar A. Del Aguila came in second with 3,916 votes, making him the first Latino to serve on the Council.

Current Vice Mayor Jennifer K. Baker tallied 3,479 votes, with incumbent Signe V. Friedrichs close behind in the fourth position with 3,436 votes.

Pradip Dhaka received 3,084 votes. Incumbent William "Bill" J. McKenna took final seat with 3,069.

Challengers Joseph T. "Joe" Plummer lost his nearly year-long bid for a seat on the Herndon Town Council in a narrow margin of only 22 votes coming in seventh with 3,047 votes.

Three consecutive-term and incumbent Councilmember, Grace Cunningham, lost her seat, trailing a reported 2,702 votes. Two-time challenger Roland Taylor came in ninth with 2,508 votes and first-time challenger W. J. "Sean" Kenis Jr. received 2,199 votes.

The Fairfax County Board of Election unofficially reported 8,019 votes cast. Voters did not have to vote for all six seats on the Herndon Town Council, only up to six.

The Herndon Town Council is composed of a mayor and six councilmembers. The mayor-elect and the top six councilmembers- elect should be sworn in by Jan. 1, 2019. The current Town Council remains seated until Dec. 31, 2018.