Classical Movements in Alexandria

Classical Movements in Alexandria

Classical Movements’ first March offerings in its Secret Garden Concert Series feature two special events reflecting world events. This Thursday, March 10, “Flamenco Meets Tabla,” a cross cultural collaboration features a recently arrived Afghan refugee musician. On Tuesday, March  22, musicians from the National Symphony and Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestras are featured in a Concert for Ukraine.

711 Princess Street, Alexandria, VA 22314 


March 10: “Flamenco Guitar Meets Tabla” 

On March 10, Afghan tabla-player Hamid Raouf Habib Zada makes his debut in the Secret  

Garden Concert Series collaborative, cross-cultural musical exchange with flamenco guitarist and vocalist Wadih Ettabbakh. In August 2021, Habib Zada made a narrow escape with his family  from the persecution against musicians threatened by the return of the Taliban. In the United  States, he has been able to pursue his career as a performer on the tabla, the hand drums popular in India and throughout South Asia. 

Habib Zada’s own Hindustani classical musical tradition will intersect with Wadih Ettabbakh’s own  fusion of flamenco and Moroccan styles, a musical journey from Spain to Afghanistan, from  Morocco to India – complemented by a glass of Spanish wine. 

This is the first installment in Classical Movements’ “A Little Good Night Music,” a new series  of informal evening concerts presented in the glass-enclosed Atrium of The Rectory. 

March 22: “A Concert for Ukraine” 

In response to the tragedy unfolding in Ukraine, Classical Movements dedicates its 100th concert, the Spring Season Opening Concert on Tuesday, March 22, in solidarity with the people of Ukraine,  featuring musicians from the National Symphony and the Washington National Opera/Kennedy Center Opera House Orchestra. Concert for Ukraine will feature Ukrainian violinist Zino Bogachek and violinist Natasha Bogachek, violist Eric DeWaardt, and cellist Loewi Lin. Repertoire will include Bedřich Smetana’s String Quartet No. 1, “From My Life,” a powerful autobiographical work that reflects the personal and political tribulations that shaped the composer’s life, as well as  works by Ukrainian composers, including Myroslav Skoryk’s heartbreakingly beautiful “A  Melody.” A portion of proceeds from ticket sales and the entirety of additional donations will be donated to Doctors Without Borders in support of their relief efforts in Ukraine. 

Both “A Little Good Night Music” and “A Concert for Ukraine” will be presented in the Atrium at  the Rectory on Princess Street. 

Tickets and additional details about both programs can be found at: