Foster, Foltz To Be Honored

Foster, Foltz To Be Honored

Both nominated as Community Champions.

Volunteer Fairfax and Supervisor Pat Herrity will honor Ned Foster of Springfield District with a Community Champion award during the 20th Anniversary Fairfax County Volunteer Service Awards sponsored by UnitedHealthcare. The awards will be held Friday, April 27,at the Waterford at Springfield in Springfield.

Herrity nominated Foster for this award on behalf of his dedication to maintaining a clean watershed. Whether removing numerous tires, a truck cab, or various sized mattresses, Foster’s work with the Friends of Little Rocky Run has had a positive effect on all residents of Fairfax County. His clean-up efforts have resulted in over 3,000 garbage bags, and over 50 tons of discarded waste being cleared from Little Rocky Run’s watershed, providing the community with cleaner water and a beautiful landscape.

Also, Volunteer Fairfax and Supervisor Michael Frey will honor Alice Foltz of Sully District with a Community Champion award.

Frey nominated Foltz for this award on behalf of her work on immigration. Foltz has given countless volunteer hours to work to find solutions to the difficult issue of immigration. Through the Wellspring United Church of Christ in Centerville, Foltz served on the Outreach Committee to accomplish the goal of reducing tension about the issue. As a result, the Centreville Labor Resource Center was implemented to provide an opportunity to move the street-side employment market indoors to a space provided by a community business owner.

Each year, Community Champions are nominated by their district supervisor. Every member of the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors is granted the honor of selecting one volunteer within their district to be recognized with this award. This distinguished award recognizes volunteers who are committed to improving Fairfax County through their dedicated efforts of bringing the community together in order to work towards a common goal of addressing the concerns of County residents.

In addition to Foster and Foltz, other individuals from the region are being honored for their accomplishments as Community Champions. Each will receive an award during the breakfast ceremony as well. This year’s list of Community Champions also includes:

  • William Cervenak, Hunter Mill District

  • Louise Cleveland, Mount Vernon District

  • The Shepherd’s Center of Oakton-Vienna, Providence District

  • Greg Sykes, Braddock District

  • Don Hakenson, Lee District

  • Robert Lundegard, Dranesville District

  • Julie Clemente, At Large

  • Stanley Garnett, Mason District.

For more information about the Community Champions or to purchase tickets, visit