Every Year Is Election Year in Arlington

Every Year Is Election Year in Arlington


Arlington Voter Registration & Elections

2100 Clarendon Blvd, Suite 320

Arlington, VA 22201

Hours: 8 a.m.-5 p.m. M-F


Phone: 703-228-3456

TTY: 703-228-4611

FAX (main): 703-228-3659

Fax (absentee applications): 703-228-3705

Email: voters@arlingtonva.us

When you register to vote in Virginia, you do not register to vote by party. Virginia is an Open Primary state which means that any registered voter in Virginia can vote in either a Democratic or Republican primary. When both parties are holding a primary election, you will be asked which primary you want to vote in when you check in to vote with your photo ID. Note, you may only vote in one primary.

Voter ID Requirements:

Per Virginia law effective July 1, 2014, all residents must provide valid photo identification when they vote in-person. Please consult the VA Department of Elections for the most up to date information regarding acceptable forms of voter photo ID.

Many types of photo ID are acceptable for voting in Virginia. You only need to show ONE acceptable photo ID to vote. Photo IDs can be used to vote up to one year after the ID has expired. Acceptable forms of valid identification: Virginia driver’s license, Virginia DMV-issued photo ID, United States passport, Employer-issued photo ID, Student photo ID issued by a school, college, or university located in Virginia, Other U.S. or Virginia government-issued photo ID, Tribal enrollment or other tribal photo ID, Virginia Voter Photo ID card

If you get to your polling place without acceptable photo ID, you can vote a provisional ballot. You will be given instructions on what to do so your vote can count.

2019 Elections

The next General Election is Nov. 5, 2019. On the ballot will be all Virginia General Assembly offices (Virginia Senate and House of Delegates), Commonwealth's Attorney, Sheriff, Commissioner of Revenue, Treasurer, County Board (two seats), and School Board.

Candidates are listed in the order they appear on the ballot. Please note that political party does not appear on the ballot for local offices but is included below. Incumbent status is also included for information.

Voting: Important Dates

  • Oct. 15: Voter Registration Deadline. In-person: 5 p.m., online: 11:59 p.m.

  • In-person absentee voting begins Friday, Sep. 20 and continues until 5 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 2. Bozman Government Center (Courthouse Plaza), 2100 Clarendon Blvd. Suite 320

  • Oct. 29: Deadline to request an absentee ballot by mail, 5 p.m.

  • Nov. 2 Final day to vote absentee in-person, 5 p.m.

  • Nov. 5: Deadline to return absentee ballot to the Office of Elections, 7 p.m.

  • Nov. 5: Election Day, Polling Places open 6 a.m. to 7 p.m.

On the Ballot in Arlington

Virginia Senate

  • District 30

Adam P. Ebbin (D), incumbent, unopposed

  • District 31

Barbara A. Favola (D), incumbent, unopposed

  • District 32

Janet D. Howell (D), incumbent

Arthur G. Purves (R)

Virginia House of Delegates

  • District 45

Mark H. Levine (D), incumbent, unopposed

  • District 47

Patrick A. Hope (D), incumbent, unopposed

  • District 48

Richard C. "Rip" Sullivan (D), incumbent, unopposed

  • District 49

Alfonso H. Lopez (D), incumbent

Terry W. Modglin (I)

Commonwealth’s Attorney

Parisa Dehghani-Tafti (D), unopposed


Elizabeth F. “Beth” Arthur (D), incumbent, unopposed

Commissioner of Revenue

Ingrid H. Morroy (D), incumbent, unopposed


Carla F. de la Pava (D), incumbent, unopposed

County Board (two seats)

Kate A. “Katie” Cristol (D), incumbent

Christian E. Dorsey (D), incumbent

Audrey R. Clement (I)

Arron O’Dell (I)

School Board

Reid S. Goldstein (I), incumbent, unopposed