School Notes

School Notes

Deborah Roudebush, physics teacher at West Springfield High School, has been named a recipient of the 2001 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching by President George W. Bush. The award is the nation's highest award for science and mathematics teachers and is administered by the National Science Foundation. Roudebush was selected from a pool of more than 600 national finalists representing all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories, and the U.S. Department of Defense schools. Each awardee receives a $7,500 grant to his school. Roudebush was the first high-school physics teacher ever to be featured on the American Physical Society's Physics Central Web site. She is a graduate of Ohio University and has a master's degree in physics from Michigan State University.

Hayfield Secondary School has made the following announcements:

Hayfield Spanish teacher Amy Marta has been named "Outstanding Teacher of the Year" in her graduate counseling program at George Mason University. The award comes with a $500 scholarship and a plaque.

Recently a number of Hayfield Secondary students were recognized for their artwork in a county-wide competition. Winners in the Drawing category were Ian McCormack, who won a Silver Key, and Briana Hertzog and Jamie Richardson, who won Certificates of Merit. In the Computer Graphics category, Theresa Rowan won the Silver Key, and Ava Waller won the Gold Key in Photography. Ava Waller will also be representing Fairfax County in the National Championships in New York. She and the other winning students were assisted by Hayfield teachers Sallye Mahan-Cox, Nancy Hannans, Jessica Summer and Wayne Zink.

Tommy La has been selected as one of the finalists by the Coca-Cola Co. in a nationwide competition in computer graphics. Final winners were to be selected at the end of February.

Susan Eisenbach and Alison Aguilera both entered the Fairfax County Council of Parent Teacher Association's Reflections Program and won in the Outstanding Interpretation category.

Hayfield's Junior ROTC has been approved for a $2,844 grant from the National Rifle Association to buy supplies and equipment to support air-rifle marksmanship training.

Julie Coleman won first place in an essay contest with the Alexandria Sunrise Optimist club. Her essay, "My Place in a Changing World," will now move on to district competition.

Erin Crowley, Laura Cammarata, Robyn Cuppett, Jamie Carter and Will Taylor were chosen to represent Hayfield in the All-State Honor Choir. Also chosen as alternates were Katie Shepherd, Rasneek Gujral, Jenn Matthews, Melissa Matson, Gavin Gulley and Jose Torres.

Every year the ROTC unit at Hayfield selects a military court for their annual ball. This year Megan Ellis and Caleb Ling were chosen from Headquarters Company while Chari Borger and Edward Hatton were selected from A Company. B Company was represented by Julie Lopez and Darin Keller. Winning the King and Queen award were Jeffrey Davis and Laurin Pulliam.

Hayfield recently held its schoolwide elections. Winning school student council (SCA) president was Diana Biberaj, co-SCA vice presidents are Sean Landers and Ali Bartlett. Chosen for SCA secretary was Sarah Baldino, and the new SCA treasurer will be Zach Scott. Historian will be William Parschalk.

Ashley Porter recently won the annual Fellowship of Christian Athletes college scholarship chosen from among 145 Northern Virginia schools.

The Cosmetology Department recently took part in the "Skills USA-VICA" District contest. Winning first place were Christine Rinehart and Robert Sneed.

An Annual Student Art Exhibit will be held on Friday, May 25, from 6:30-9 p.m., at St. Bernadette's School. The awards presentation will begin at 7:30 p.m. This exhibit is the first in a series of annual exhibits. Artwork representing every student in every grade at St. Bernadette's will be on display, representing all forms of art media. The awards ceremony will recognize students in all grades, with first-, second- and third-place and honorable mention awards.

The Robert E. Lee High School Library in Springfield is