People Notes

People Notes

<bt>Send announcements to The Herndon Connection, 7913 Westpark Drive, McLean, VA 22102, e-mail to or fax to 703-917-0991. Deadline is Friday before publication. Photos/artwork encouraged. Questions?

<bt>Laurie L. Jones of Herndon was named to the faculty's list of honorable mention at Roanoke College for the fall term of the 2001-02 academic year.

<bt>Know an exceptional Herndon resident? Then the Herndon Rotary Club wants to hear about that person. The organization is seeking nominations for its Citizen of the Year award. The community-wide award was established in 1963 to honor those individuals who have contributed to the quality of life in the Greater Herndon area.

Individuals or organizations can make a nomination by submitting a person's name, address, and phone number along with a letter describing the reasons why the nominee is deserving of the award.

Nominations should be sent to Herndon Rotary, P. O. Box 321, Herndon, VA 20172. For more information, contact Tom Haselhorst at 703-761-4747. Nominations should be submitted by March 15, 2002.

<bt>Mary Washington College has named the following Herndon citizens to its Dean's List for the fall 2001 semester: Ryan P. Quinn, Christina M. Timpano, Linfei Yu, Erin E. Brown, Amanda K. Hartman, and Nicole M. Iarrobino. To qualify for the Dean's List, a person must be a full-time student with a minimum grade-point-average of 3.5 out of a possible 4.0


<bt>Herndon's Town Council expressed its appreciation to Judith W. Downer for her contributions to the betterment of the Herndon community as the Dranesville district representative to the Fairfax County Planning Commission.

Downer has been a Herndon resident for 35 years and an active member of the Herndon community and the Herndon Fortnightly Club. She also served as the first vice president of the Greater Herndon Citizens Association and president of the Herndon Dulles Chamber of Commerce. She was a member of its board of directors and founded the Environmental (recycling) Committee. Furthermore, Downer was a member of the Dranesville District Comprehensive Plan Review Task Force and a member of Tree-Action. She also served as co-chairman of the Herndon-Reston Recreational Task Force.

To recognize her spirit of volunteerism and commitment to the community, Downer received an Outstanding Service Award and Certificate of Appreciation from the Herndon Dulles Chamber of Commerce and was named "Lady Fairfax" in 1991 to represent the Dranesville District.

The Town of Herndon presented Downer with its Distinguished Service Award at the Mayor's Volunteer Appreciation Night in 1990 and was named "Citizen of the Year" by the Herndon Rotary Club and Greater Herndon Jaycees in 1991.

In December 1992, Downer was appointed as the Dranesville District Representative to the Fairfax County Planning Commission by the Fairfax County Board of Supervisors, and served in that capacity until her retirement in December 2000. She was elected parliamentarian for the Fairfax County Planning Commission in 2000. Downer served as both vice chairman and chairman of the Redevelopment and Housing Committee, focusing much of her attention on affordable housing issues throughout Fairfax County.

<bt>The following Herndon residents graduated from James Madison University in the Fall Semester, 2001: Kathleen Marie Abbott, Gagan Kumar Bali, Sean Casey Collins, Sean Michael Costello, Bryan Richard Derrickson, Kaushalya Y. Heendeniya, Jennifer Allison Jeffers, Joshua Stephen Linebaugh, Carrie Lynn Offenbacher, Deanna Christine Pearce, and Marcus H. Sachs.