Six vie for At-Large School Board Seats

Six vie for At-Large School Board Seats

The four-year terms for the Fairfax County School Board expire Dec. 31, with all 12 seats up for grabs in the Nov. 4 election.

The board is made up of nine district representatives and three at-large members who run countywide. The board is nonpartisan, so all the candidates run as independents, however, many seek endorsements from the two major political parties.

Six candidates are seeking the three at-large seats, three endorsed by Republicans, and three endorsed by Democrats.

Rita Thompson is the only incumbent at-large school board member seeking re-election. She is endorsed by the Republican party, as are Steve Hunt and Nell Hurley.

Democrat-endorsed candidates include Ilryong Moon, a former member of the school board, Lynn Terhar and Janet Oleszek.

In district races, incumbents Republican Judith "Tessie" Wilson (Braddock), Democrat Jane K. "Janie" Strauss (Dranesville) and newcomer Democrat Phil A. Niedzielski-Eichner (Providence) are all unopposed. Incumbent Democrat Stuart D. Gibson (Hunter Mill) is being challenged by Independent Arthur G. Purves. Democrat Brad Center and Republican T. P. "Terrie" Dacales are vying for the open Lee seat. Incumbent Democrat L. Kaye Kory is facing a challenge from Republican Douglas J. Barylski. Marsha E. Paul, a Republican, and Daniel G. "Dan" Storck, a Democrat, are squaring off for the open Mount Vernon seat. In Springfield, Democrat Cathy A. Belter is challenged by Republican Scott M. Martin. Sully representative Democrat Kathy L. Smith is facing Republican Carl P. Cecil.

In addition to their district representatives, voters will be asked to select three from the six candidates running for at-large board member.

Profiles and questionnaires from each are available on the Connection Web site, under Election Guide 2003.