People Notes

People Notes

Volunteer Fairfax will hold its Fairfax County Volunteer Service Awards Thursday, April 20. Among the Service Awards nominees are Marian Chirchella and Ben Astley of Vienna and Julie and Sally Yannuzzi and John Mooney of Oakton. Chirchella is one of 10 nominees in the Senior Volunteer category, and Astley is one of four nominees in the Arts and Humanities category. Eighteen-year-old John Mooney, who is nominated in the Youth Volunteer category, is a volunteer firefighter at the Vienna Volunteer Fire Department. The Yannuzzis were nominated in the Family Volunteer category for their work with disabled horseback riders at Simple Changes. Winners will be announced at a breakfast ceremony starting at 8 a.m. at the McLean Hilton. Tickets for the event are $35 each. Visit or call 703-246-3460.

Winners have been named in the Vienna Parks and Recreation Department's 2006 amateur photography contest, held March 18 and 19 at the community center. Tom Cocke III received the Best in Show award, and Patricia Deege won the People's Choice award. Winners are:

First place: Tom Cocke III, Warren Standley, Jonathan Van Allen, Gary Quam, Ben Rasmussen, Sandi Croan, James Pugh and Patricia Deege.

Second place: Karen Lykke, Brian Mitchell, Diane Williams, Laura Howell, Loma Mier, You-Yen Yang, Robert Bosse and Gerry Boyd.

Third place: Gary Ryan, Ted Sienknecht, Jenevieve Lenz, Steve Callender, Jean Feighery, Mary Jane Fish, Lorainne Chickering and Teresa Osborn.

Honorable mention: Anthony Hathaway, Vicki Eicher, Christopher Greene, Jeff Suhanick, Susan Isakson, Julie Cochran, Jan Ponder, John Sichenze, Robert Holt and W.A. Flanagan, Rita O'Hara.

For students in grades 7-12, the winners are:

First place: Isabella Huygens, Heidi Pankratz, John Dombroski, Stefanie Miller, Alex Sandlin, Livia Hengel and Chantal Cough Schulze.

Second place: Alicia Raft, Caitlin Giroux, Rebecca Clark-Callender, Natasha Yousuf and Maya Cough Schulze.

Third place: Quinn Giroux.

Honorable mention: Jacqueline Inskeep, Eric Randall, Chris Church.

A special meeting of the Mayor's Advisory Committee was held April 11 in the council chamber at Town Hall, 127 Center St., S., to recognize individuals and organizations nominated as outstanding volunteers for 2006. Those honored included: Cheryl Aubin, John Balenger, Frank Banner, Herman Carter, the Harry Cole family, Susan Colwell, James Epic, Martha Hatter, Laine Hyde, John Kliewer, Dave Lanphear, Pat Lavey, Jane MacDuff, Aileen Yuan Mak, Jean-Pierre Osterwalder, Ronald D. Patterson, Leo and Patricia Planakis, Karen Price, Dadia Stern, David Woodhead, the Historic Vienna Inc. Museum Committee contributors (Janet Gelb, Marion Wiggins, Naomi Pearson, Vickie Minor, Jean Minor, Gloria Runyon, Lorraine Thomas, Gloria Carter and Delores Hailstalk) and the Capital Campaign Steering Committe for the Vienna Volunteer Fire Department's building renovation project (Michael Polychrones, Roy Baldwin, Laurie Genevro Cole, Thomas Davis III, Jeannemarie Devolites-Davis, Edythe Frankel Kelleher, Maud F. Robinson, John Scheib, Jane Seeman, Patrick Via, Bill Webb, Bob Zillian, Gene Jacob, Jeff Gray, Howard Springsteen, Elaine Wright and Barbara Herring.

Also at the meeting, Vienna's Town/Business Liaison Committee presented Safeway of Vienna with the committee's first annual Community Service Award for the store's support of the Club Phoenix teen center and donations to after-school activities.