People Notes

People Notes

Zane Bevan and John Burr were awarded Eagle Boy Scout rank in a Double Eagle Ceremony at Our Lady of Good Council DeSales Hall in Vienna on April 1. Both Scouts, from Troop 976, went through scouting together for 11 years, beginning with Cub Scouts. Bevan is a senior at Bishop O’Connell High School in Arlington, and Burr is a senior at Gonzaga High School in Washington, D.C.

Friends of Accotink Inc. volunteers joined forces with Vienna's Department of Public Works to mark storm drains in the Town on Saturday, April 15. The environmental awareness project was planned in conjunction with the Vienna Community Center's 40th anniversary celebration. Volunteers marked 53 storm drains with a colorful "No Dumping" decal, reminding residents that what goes in storm drains ultimately flows to the Chesapeake Bay. Teams included Del. Steve Shannon and Town Councilmember Laurie Genevro Cole. Along the route, volunteers also picked up trash and distributed informational fliers to residents. Friends of Accotink looks forward to coordinating more service and educational programs with the Town.

Alexine Clement Jackson is this year's recipient of the Community Foundation for the National Capital Region’s Civic Spirit award. Jackson will be the guest of honor at the Community Foundation’s 2006 Celebration of Civic Spirit, a reception and dinner event, May 2 at in Washington, D.C. Jackson has been an active volunteer in the Washington community for more than 25 years, and her past volunteer experience includes: board chair for the Community Foundation for the National Capital Region, board member for the Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts, co-chair of the 25th anniversary Gala for the Wolf Trap Foundation for the Performing Arts, chair of the 1994 Wolf Trap Ball and co-chair of the 125th anniversary Gala Dinner for Howard University College of Medicine. Her current memberships include: the National Museum of Women in the Arts, Strathmore Hall Arts Center, Intercultural Cancer Council (past chair), Cancer Research Foundation of America and the National Campaign to Prevent Teen Pregnancy.