0
Votes

Theater

photo

The Elden Street Players will open the comedy "Secrets of a Soccer Mom" on Oct. 24 at the Industrial Strength Theatre. Performance dates are Fridays and Saturdays, Oct. 24 – Nov. 15, at 8 p.m., and Sunday, Nov. 2 at 3 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 9 at 7 p.m. and Nov. 13 at 8 p.m. at the Industrial Strength Theatre, 269 Sunset Park Drive, Herndon. Reservations: 703-481-5930. Tickets are $19 for general admission and $16 for seniors (62 years old and up) and students. See www.eldenstreetplayers.org.

photo

Rehearsing for the Elden Street Players’ "The Fisherman & His Wife" are Jane Yurechko as Nancy Fisherman and Elliot Dondero-Pettit as Andrew Fisherman. The Theatre For Young Audiences’ show opens Nov. 1, at the Industrial Strength Theatre in Herndon and runs through Nov. 16. Tickets are $7. Reservations: 703 481-5930, option 3, or go to www.eldenstreetplayers.org.

A Halloween Fright Night Festival of Plays. For the whole family, from Oct. 29-30, at 7 p.m. in the South Lakes High School Little Theatre. The plays include "The Incredible Bulk at Bikini Beach," "No Body To Murder," "Cafe Murder," "Attack of the Pom Pom Zombies," and "The Spell of Malatesta." Tickets are $5.

"Secrets of a Soccer Mom," Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, 8 p.m., Friday, Oct. 31; 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 1; 3 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 2; 8 p.m., Friday, Nov. 7; 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 8; 7 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 9; 8 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 13; 8 p.m., Friday, Nov. 14; 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 15. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"The Fisherman and His Wife," Theater for Young Audiences, Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, 11 a.m. and 2 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 1; 12 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 2; 11 a.m. and 2 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 8; 2 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 9; 11 a.m. and 2 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 15; 2 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 16. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

Comedian Adam Ace. On Nov. 7, former theatre student Adam Burger, now a professional comedian known as Adam Ace, will present a fund-raiser for the South Lakes High School Theatre Arts Department. Since graduating from South Lakes and college, Adam Ace has performed in various venues all over the country and on cruise ships, entertaining crowds of all ages. The 90-minute show is one night only, and starts at 8 p.m. Tickets are $6 in advance and $8 at the door. To learn more about Adam Ace go to www.adamace.com

"Forbidden Broadway," Reston Community Players at CenterStage of the Reston Community Center, 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 8; 2:30 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 9; 8 p.m., Friday, Nov. 14; 2:30 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 15; 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 15 (sign interpretation); 2:30 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 16; 8 p.m., Friday, Nov. 21; 2:30 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 22; 8 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 22, and 2:30 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 23. See www.restonplayers.org.

"The Sound of Music," Herndon High School Theatre Department, at Herndon High School, 7:30 p.m., Thursday, Nov. 13; , 7:30 p.m., Friday, Nov. 14; , 7:30 p.m., Saturday, Nov. 15; 2 p.m., Sunday, Nov. 16.

"Rumors." The South Lakes High School Theatre Arts Department will present Neil Simon's comedy farce. Show times are at 7 p.m. on Nov. 20-21, and 2 p.m. and 7 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 22 in the Little Theatre. Tickets are $6 presale and $8 at the door.

To purchase tickets for any of these shows or for more information, go to www.sltheatrearts.com, or call 703-715-4589.

"Anne of Green Gables," Theater for Young Audiences, Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, 7:30 p.m., Friday, Dec. 12; 2:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., Saturday, Dec. 13; 2:30 p.m., Sunday, Dec. 14; 7:30 p.m., Friday, Dec. 19; 2:30 p.m. and 7:30 p.m., Saturday, Dec. 20; 2:30 p.m., Sunday, Dec. 21. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"Shining City," Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, Jan. 23-Feb. 14. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"Brooklyn Boy," Reston Community Players at CenterStage of the Reston Community Center, 8 p.m., Friday, Jan. 23; 8 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 24 (sign interpretation); 8 p.m., Friday, Jan. 30; 8 p.m., Saturday, Jan. 31; 2:30 p.m., Sunday, Feb. 1; 8 p.m., Friday, Feb. 6, and 8 p.m., Saturday, Feb. 7. See www.restonplayers.org.

"Hansel & Gretel," Theater for Young Audiences, Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, Jan. 31-Feb. 15. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"The Full Monty," Reston Community Players at CenterStage of the Reston Community Center, 8 p.m., Friday, March 6; 8 p.m. Saturday, March 7; 8 p.m., Friday, March 13; 8 p.m., Saturday, March 14 (sign interpretation); 2:30 p.m., Sunday, March 15; 8 p.m., Friday, March 20, and 8 p.m., Saturday, March 21; 2:30 p.m., Sunday, March 22; 8 p.m., Friday, March 27, and 8 p.m., Saturday, March 28. See www.restonplayers.org.

"Falsettos," Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, March 13-April 4. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"Something Different 2009," Theater for Young Audiences, Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, March 21- April 5. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"Laughing Stock," Reston Community Players at CenterStage of the Reston Community Center, 8 p.m., Friday, May 1; 8 p.m. Saturday, May 2; 8 p.m., Friday, May 8; 8 p.m., Saturday, May 9 (sign interpretation); 2:30 p.m., Sunday, May 10; 8 p.m., Friday, May 15, and 8 p.m., Saturday, May 16. See www.restonplayers.org.

"The History Boys," Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, June 5-27. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"Fairytales in Training," Theater for Young Audiences, Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, June 13-28. See eldenstreetplayers.org.

"Amour," Elden Street Players at the Industrial Strength Theatre, July 31-Aug. 22. See eldenstreetplayers.org.