Schools Sept. 17-23

Schools Sept. 17-23

To have school information listed in The Arlington Connection write an e-mail to Deadline is 2 p.m. the Thursday before publication. Call Rebecca Halik at 703-917-6407.

Sher Afgan Tareen, the son of Fauzia Deeba of Arlington and has been named to the dean's list of Macalester College for academic achievement during the spring semester. A graduate of Washington-Lee, Tareen was a first-year student at Macalester last spring.

Williamsburg Middle School student Emily Mitchell placed second at the Technology Student Association (TSA) 30th annual competition in Orlando, Fla.

The Wakefield High School Education Foundation announced that it had awarded $112,500 in scholarships to fifteen members of the Wakefield Class of 2008. The 2008 Wakefield Scholars are Lameya Ahmed, who will be attending the University of Virginia, and Madelaine Torres, who will be attending Virginia Tech, both of whom were designated as Claude Moore Charitable Foundation Scholars; James Lyon who will be attending The College of William & Mary and FlorDeMaria Vargas Stevez, who will be attending Moravian College, were designated as Duques Family Foundation Scholars; Mateos Chekol, who will be attending William & Mary and Muhammad-Wagas Noor, who will be attending David Elkins College, were selected as Richard and Jane Coe Stoker Scholars; Ashley Donahoo, who will be attending George Mason University was designated as a Washington Forrest Foundation Scholar; Malake Jabbara who will be attending Mary Washington University was selected as a James E. Jones scholar; Vien Ngoc Truong, who will be attending Virginia Tech was designated as a John D. Murray scholar; Aqsa Zafar, who will be attending George Mason University was designated as a Robert C. Elliott scholar and Maria Siapno, who will be attending James Madison University was selected as an Albert C. Tate, Jr. scholar. Wakefield scholarships were also awarded to Alejandro Aguayo who will be attending George Mason University, Georgi Emilov Enchev who will be attending The University of Wales (Aberystwyth, UK), and Weishuo Huang, who will be attending The Catholic University of America. Isela Melendez, who will be attending The University of Richmond and who will be receiving a substantial scholarship from another source, was recognized with a special recognition scholarship.

Four television production students from the Arlington Career Center placed fourth in the SkillsUSA National competition in Kansas City at the end of June earning a score of 95.95 percent. Zach Bowman, Brittany Cooksey and Robel Kabithymer, all from Washington-Lee, and Mahala Mitchell from H-B Woodlawn competed in the live broadcast competition against other gold medal winners from 19 states.

Zachary Fitzgerald Hudson has been accepted by Hampden-Sydney College and will enroll in August 2008. Zack is a graduate of Yorktown High School and is the son of Bill & Peggy Hudson of Arlington.

Morton J. Zeitlin, general partner of American Service Center in Arlington, Va., presented a $1,500 grant to Arlington County Public Schools.

Escuela Bolivia’s Saturday School will begin on Saturday Sept. 13 at Claremont Elementary School located at 4700 S. Chesterfield Road. Classes will run every Saturday from 9 a.m.-noon until Dec. 20. Registration for the Fall session will be held on Saturday Sept. 6 at Claremont Elementary School between 9 a.m.-noon. Registration can also be completed online at Tuition is $110 per student. Need-based scholarships are available. 

The National Merit Scholarship Program has recognized 17 Arlington students as semifinalists in the 54th annual National Merit Scholarship Competition. The students include:

Wakefield High School: Leslie Bull,
Magdalen A. Silberman; Yorktown High School: 
Emily A. Carroll,
Robert J. Cooper,
 Stephanie D. Hunt, 
Phoebe M. White, 
John W. Wilson; H-B Woodlawn Secondary Program: Megan M. Hauptman, 
Eric W. Young; Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology: Brett J. Anders, 
Adrienne E. Arditti, 
Nathaniel Coddington, 
Spencer deMars, 
Theo S. Gutman-Solo, 
Emma J. Pierson, 
Nicholas R. Starr, 
David Wu

Westfield State College is pleased to announce that Sarah E. Odachowski of Alexandria graduated from Westfield State College. Odachowski received a Bachelor of Science-Education in elementary education.