Week in Herndon

Week in Herndon

Candidates Set for Herndon Town Council Elections

Candidates for the office of Mayor for the 2012-2014 term of the Herndon Town Council include Lisa C. Merkel, Jasbinder Singh, and William B. “Bill” Tirrell, Sr. All serve on the current Town Council.

Candidates for the six Town Council seats for the 2012-2014 term include Eric H. Boll, Jeffrey L. Davidson, Connie Haines Hutchinson, C. Melissa Jonas, David A. Kirby, Sheila A. Olem, Charlie D. Waddell, David N. Webster II and Grace Han Wolf. Hutchinson, Olem and Wolf serve on the current Town Council.

Election Day is Tuesday, May 1. The Herndon Community Center, 814 Ferndale Avenue, is the sole polling place for town election. Residents of the Town of Herndon who are eligible but not registered to vote must do so by April 9, to vote in the town election. Voter registration applications are available through the Fairfax County General Registrar’s office at 703-222-0776 or online at www.fairfaxcounty.gov/eb; completed applications must be printed and mailed, or delivered in person, to the General Registrar, 12000 Government Center Parkway, Suite 323, Fairfax VA 22035-0081.

To apply for an absentee ballot by mail, the Fairfax County Office of Elections must receive an absentee ballot application from a qualified voter no later than April 24. Absentee ballot applications may also be obtained in person no later than April 28, at the Fairfax County Office of Elections. Applications are available at county government centers and libraries or may be downloaded from the county’s website at www.fairfaxcounty.gov/eb.

Voter registration forms and absentee ballot applications also are available in the Town Clerk’s office, 777 Lynn Street, Herndon, 703-435-6804, town.clerk@herndon-va.gov.

Herndon Rotary Club Sponsors Essay Contest

The Herndon Rotary Club sponsored an essay contest on Rotary’s Four-Way Test for 7th and 8th graders at the Herndon Middle School with the support of Principal Justine Klena and Assistant Principal Karyn Niles. Nineteen students chose to submit essays for consideration, from which three were selected as winning essays.

The 2012 Herndon Rotary Club Middle School Essay Contest winners and their respective prizes are:

1st Prize – Tristan Savage - $200

2nd Prize – Abigail (Abby) Smith - $100

3rd Prize – David Fehrle - $50

The club has submitted Tristan Savage’s winning essay as its entry to Rotary District 7610’s Essay Contest.

Papa Murphy’s Opening in Herndon

Papa Murphy’s, take-and-bake pizza chain, has opened its first store in Herndon on March 6. The store is located at Franklin Farm Village, 13320-D Franklin Farm Road. With over 1,300 locations, Papa Murphy's was just ranked “#1 Rated Pizza Chain” in the U.S. for a second consecutive year by consumers on Zagat’s Annual Fast Food Survey.

Gary Mesich, the local franchisee of the Herndon store, is excited to bring Papa Murphy’s to this community.