Editorial: Last Week to Register to Vote

Editorial: Last Week to Register to Vote

To vote on Election Day, you must be registered at your current address no later than Oct. 15, 2012. Registered voters should have received a new voter card in the mail by now. You can check your registration status online by visiting the State Board of Elections website at www.sbe.virginia.gov. There you can also download a voter registration form and mail or fax it to your elections office address.

Alexandria Board of Elections, 703-746-4050, http://alexandriava.gov/Elections

132 North Royal Street, Alexandria, 22314; FAX 703-838-6449; email tom.parkins@alexandriava.gov

Fairfax County Board of Elections, 703-222-0776, www.fairfaxcounty.gov/eb/

12000 Government Center Parkway, Fairfax, Suite 232, Fairfax, 22035; FAX 703-324-2205; email voting@fairfaxcounty.gov

Arlington Board of Elections, 703-228-3456, http://www.arlingtonva.us/vote, 2100 Clarendon Blvd. Suite 320, Arlington, 22201; FAX 703-228-3659; email voters@arlingtonva.us

City of Fairfax General Registrar, 703-385-7890, http://www.fairfaxva.gov/Registrar/GeneralRegistrar.asp

10455 Armstrong Street, Sisson House, Fairfax, 22030; FAX 703-591-8364; email kevin.linehan@fairfaxva.gov

State Board of Elections, 804-864-8901 Toll Free: 800-552-9745 FAX: 804-371-0194

email: info@sbe.virginia.gov


Serve as Election Officer

Election Officers work at the polls on Election Day to ensure elections are run in an honest and well-organized manner. Election officers are paid $100 - $200 for the day depending on assignment and locality. Election Day begins by showing up at an assigned polling place before 5 a.m. and remaining on the job until all votes are tallied after the polling places close at 7 p.m.

Requirements to serve as an election officer include: being registered to vote in Virginia; not holding elected office and not being an employee of an elected official; enjoying meeting other people and serving the public; being detail-oriented, able to take direction well and not easily distracted. Election officers must attend training before Election Day. Many officers are assigned to their "home" precinct or a nearby precinct or asked to work in the absentee precinct.

Fairfax County needs 3,000 election officers in its 239 precincts for Election Day. Call 703-324-4735.

Arlington County will need 900 election officers in its 52 precincts on Nov. 6. To apply, visit https://sites.google.com/site/arlingtoncountypollworkers/apply-now

The City of Alexandria needs 500 election officers to serve at its 27 precincts. Call 703-746-4050.

Be Prepared: What's on the Ballot?

Early voting (technically voting absentee-in-person) is already underway in Virginia, so you can go out and vote this week.

Every voter in Virginia will vote for U.S senator and member in the U.S. House of Representatives, in addition to President of the United States and two constitutional questions.

Two constitutional questions will appear on all Virginia ballots, one about the use of eminent domain and one about the timing of a particular session of the General Assembly to consider overriding vetoes by the governor of legislation that was passed by the assembly. See http://www.sbe.virginia.gov/webdocs/201211ConstitutionalAmendmentsPoster.pdf.

In the races for U.S. House of Representatives, it's worth noting that redistricting resulted in significant changes in Northern Virginia in terms of who your U.S. representative will be. If you live in Reston, for example, you were represented by Jim Moran and the 8th district, now you are in the 11th district where the incumbent is Gerry Connolly. Fairfax County is represented by three Congressional Districts, 8, 10 and 11.

In Fairfax County, voters will also decide whether to invest in infrastructure based on four bond questions, answering yes or no to supporting $75 million for parks, $55 million for public safety facilities, $25 million for library facilities and $30 million for stormwater and sewer improvements. http://www.fairfaxcounty.gov/elections/nov_2012_county_bond_issues.pdf

In Arlington, voters will choose one member of the County Board and one member of the School Board. Both Arlington boards are made up entirely of at-large members, so both races will appear on all Arlington ballots.

Incumbent Libby Garvey (D) will face Matthew A. Wavro (R) and Audrey R. Clement (I) for the seat on the County Board.

For School Board, Incumbent Emma N. Violand-Sanchez will face Noah L. Simon.

Arlington voters will also decide yes or no on four bond questions, whether to authorize raising $32 million for public schools, $28 million for community infrastructure, $50 million for local parks and recreation, and $32 million for Metro and transportation. http://www.arlingtonva.us/departments/voterregistration/forms/Bonds2012ENG.pdf

In the City of Alexandria, voters will also choose a mayor, members of the city council and school board.

The Alexandria City Council is composed of a mayor and six council members who are elected at-large for three-year terms. Incumbent Mayor Bill Euille (D) will face Andrew H. Macdonald (I) in the race for mayor.

Alexandria voters will choose six City Council members from a list of 12: Frank H. Fannon IV (R)*, Alicia R. Hughes (R), John R. "Bob" Wood (R), John Taylor Chapman (D), Timothy Lovain (D), Del Pepper (D), Allison Silberberg (D), Paul C. Smedberg (D), Justin M. Wilson (D), Glenda B. Davis (I), Robert Krause (L), Jermaine A. Mincey (I). ( means incumbent.)

The Alexandria City School Board is a nine-member elected body that adopts policy for the daily operation of schools and sees that school laws are properly explained, enforced, and observed. The city is divided into three voting districts, and three board members are elected from each district. Each member serves a three-year term. Incumbents are marked with *.

School Board District A: Stephanie Amann Kapsis, William E. "Bill" Campbell, Karen A. Graf, Helen F. Morris, Joyce D. Rawlings, Heath E. Wells.

School Board District B: Michael A. Brookbank, Chyrell D. Bucksell, Kelly Carmichael Booz, Justin P. Keating, Marc Williams* .

School Board District C: Ronnie M. Campbell*, Patricia A. "Pat" Hennig, Christopher J. Lewis, Jeff N. Zack.