School Notes

Email announcements to Photos are welcome.

More than 300 JMU students embarked on 30 spring break trips around the country and world. Students spent the week living simply, focused on service in their destination community but also on teamwork and reflection within their group. The following students participated in alternative spring break: Emma Stewart, Adrienne Lowry and Rachael Donnelly

Meagan McCue, a sophomore at the University of South Carolina, Columbia, and a Centreville High School graduate, was named to the president's honor roll for the fall of 2012. She was also named to the dean's list for the Spring of 2012.

Kimberly Fitzpatrick, of Centreville, has been named to Eckerd College's dean's list for the fall 2012 semester. Kimberly is majoring in marine science.

Twenty Fairfax County Public Schools students have received 21 national medals for their entries in the 2013 Scholastic Art Awards sponsored by the Alliance for Young Artists and Writers. Seven students earned 8 Gold Awards; 13 students earned Silver Medals.

Patrick Hulse of South County High School was one of 15 students to receive a Portfolio Gold Award, the highest level of achievement. Marc Dessauvage of South Lakes High School won an American Visions Award in painting. This award is equivalent to a best in show for the nation, and is one of five awarded. Gold Award winners from FCPS are: Ksenia Muzyka of Westfield High School for drawing. Elizabeth Tropea of Centreville High School for photography.

Two local Susquehanna University students studied this spring at Regent’s College in London, England. Steven Blaney, of Centreville, is a junior international studies major. A 2010 graduate of Centreville High School, he is the son of Ilsa Blaney. Meredith Rigby, of Clifton, is a junior communications major. A 2010 graduate of Centreville High School, she is the daughter of Peter and Susan Rigby.

Taylin Frame of Centreville has received national recognition as an outstanding campus leader for 2013 by the Who's Who Among Students in American Universities & Colleges® program. She is the daughter of Tony and Cyndi Frame. Frame is one of a select group of 53 seniors from Olivet Nazarene University to accept this prestigious award.

A vocal music performance major, Frame received this honor for her achievements while at Olivet, including: dean's list (2010-2012); recipient of Olivet's Academic Scholarship (2009-2013), Foundation Scholarship, Music Scholarship (2011-2013), Jenna Dickey Vocal Scholarship (2012-2013), Shirley Close Vocal Scholarship (2012-2013), Ruth Eimer Vocal Scholarship (2011-2012); finalist for Classical (2010) and Musical Theatre (2010, 2012) Divisions, NATS District; semi- finalist for Classical Division, NATS Regionals (2011); member of Alliance Theatre, Kankakee Valley Theatre Association, Olivet's Green Room student theatre club, Orpheus Choir and Concert Singers; directed and established a summer musical theatre camp for the youth, CPC Theatre; assisted with Green Room production of "Edges: A Song Cycle"; vocalist on worship team at Christian Fellowship Church; vocalist for chapel worship band at Olivet; volunteer for food drive to benefit orphans in Nicaragua; served on Orpheus Choir mission trip to Kenya and Concert Singers mission trip to Brazil.

Kimberly Fitzpatrick a member of the class of 2015 at Eckerd College, was one of 30 sophomores to be named a Peter Pav Freshman Scholar by Eckerd's Phi Beta Kappa chapter, Zeta of Florida. Fitzpatrick is pursuing a degree in marine science.

Jin Sig Min received academic honors from the Harpur College of Arts and Sciences at Binghamton University by making the University's dean's list for the fall 2012 semester.

Hayley V. Harris is a recipient of the National Achievement Scholarship, worth $2,500. Hayley is a student at Centreville High School and interested in computer science.