Potomac School Notes May 8

Jason Fish was recognized at an Honors Day Ceremony held by the School of Business Administration at the University of Vermont earlier this spring. Fish received the Senior Award for Excellence in Entrepreneurship presented by the UVM School of Business.

Six Montgomery County Public Schools seniors from four high schools have been awarded corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarships financed by corporations, company foundations, and other business organizations. The winners, their intended field of study, and sponsors are:

Sharon Shuwan Chen from Montgomery Blair High School, statistics, CSC.

Neil G. Shekar from Winston Churchill High School, computer engineering, Northrop Grumman.

Srihari Devaraj from Richard Montgomery High School, electrical engineering, CSC.

Fiona V. Lam from Richard Montgomery High School, mathematics, Mary E. Beyerle Trust.

Ankit K. Sarkar from Richard Montgomery High School, finance, Mary E. Beyerle Trust.

Benjamin A. Bouvier from Walt Whitman High School, biochemistry, Lockheed Martin.

Marlena Abramowitz and Krishna Murti were initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation's oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Abramowitz was initiated at University of Maryland, Baltimore County. Murti was initiated at University of Maryland University College.