2014 Alexandria Beautification Awards

2014 Alexandria Beautification Awards

The Alexandria Beautification Commission announced the 2014 Alexandria Beautification Award winners in a ceremony held on Sept. 15, 2014 at the Little Theatre of Alexandria. The Commission, Vice Mayor Allison Silberberg and Councilman Paul Smedberg presented 25 awards.

The 2014 awardees include: Farmers Market Food Waste Recovery Program; The Asher Apartments; 1201 Colonial Ave.; 910 Green St.; Jones Point Park; 223 Oronoco St.; 3200 Cameron Mills Road; 1305 Dartmouth Road; Fire Station #209; 103 West Linden St.; 310 Mansion Drive; 120 West Maple St.; 563 East Nelson St.; Potomac Yard Park; 30 Rosecrest Ave.; 2 Washington Circle; 729 North Ashton St.; 4401 Ford Ave.; 4302 Fox Haven Lane; 49 South French St.; 4825 Maury Lane; 3912 Taney Ave.; 5337 Truman Ave.; 5669 Rayburn Ave.; and 2307 North Sibley St.

The Commission sponsors the Alexandria Beautification Awards each year, recognizing community member’s efforts to contribute to the beautification of their neighborhoods and public vistas with landscaping and overall aesthetic design. Nominations are made by members of the Commission and the community and are judged by members on the use of plants, texture and color, neighborhood context, marked improvements, and overall appearance.

Winners are limited to properties visible from the public right of way.

The Alexandria Beautification Commission is a 12-member volunteer board approved by the City Council for two-year terms. The Beautification Commission represents citizens' values in City beautification matters and coordinates projects to encourage and achieve beautification.

For more information about the Awards program email Cathleen Curtin, Commission Co-

chairperson at AlexandriaBeautification@gmail.com.