Alexandria Chamber Names 2017 40 under 40 Honorees

Alexandria Chamber Names 2017 40 under 40 Honorees

The Alexandria Chamber of Commerce has named the honorees for its 2017 40 under 40 awards. The 40 individuals will be celebrated at the 2017 40 under 40 Awards reception, sponsored by Potomac Conference Center to be held July 27 at the United Way Worldwide building.

The 40 under 40 program was established in 2016 by the chamber to recognize men and women, age 40 and under, engaged in a variety of fields including business, technology, nonprofit management, civic life, public service, education, and the arts, who are shaping Alexandria for the future.

This year’s honorees include: Andrew D. Watson, Aseel Elborno, Bill Rausch, Brent McKenzie, Brian Kearney, Craig Fifer, Crystal Nosal, David Lord, David Ramos, Elizabeth Bennett Parker, Emily McMahan, Erica Russell, Fernando M. Torrez, Hope Nelson, Ingris M. Chavez Moran, Jeff Swedarsky, Jennifer Mellon, Jesse O'Connell, Jessica Ruth Killeen, Joseph J. Valenti, Karim Guirguis, Kathy Dalby, Katie Linn Leonard, Kelly Booz, Lauren O'Brien, Lekeisha Terrell, Lindsey Swanson, Matthew Stensrud, Michael Detomo, Michelle Jorie Millben, Noriane Buttar, Paul Holland, Peter Balas, Quan Leysath, Randy Borland, Ryan Michael Hayes, Sean Kumar, Shanyn Ronis, and Thomas Park.

Winners were evaluated on specific criteria including professional and scholastic accomplishments, community and volunteer impact, and their goals for future and lasting impact.

According to Joe Haggerty, president & CEO of the Alexandria Chamber, "The chamber is proud to once again honor community professionals who will shape Tomorrow's Alexandria. Our honorees represent the diversity of our city and how each, in their individual way, are unique innovators whose accomplishments are vital to our business and civic communities. By honoring their successes, we hope to inspire others to take the lead and work to ensure Tomorrow's Alexandria is a top place for business and careers."

For more information about this program and the honorees, see