Schools Notes

Schools Notes

TOT Preschool, a ministry of Sydenstricker United Methodist Church, is accepting registrations for three- and four-year-old children. For more, call 703-644-6384 or send an e-mail to The Sydenstricker United Methodist Church is located at 8508 Hooes Road, Springfield.

The West Springfield class of 2000 celebrates its 5-year reunion on June 25. For more information, send an e-mail to or call 703-913-3924.

West Springfield High School’s Class of 1980 celebrates its 25-year reunion on June 25, at the Hyatt Arlington. For more information, visit

Springfield’s Hidden Pond Nature Center offers various summer camps for youngsters. For more, call 703-451-9588.

* Pond Pals, open to ages 4-5; children explore Hidden Pond Park’s forest and wetlands through hands-on activities, nature crafts and games. The session takes place from July 6 to July 8, from 10 a.m. to noon. Cost is $60 per child.

* Pohick Peepers Camp, open to ages 5-6; children take part in field study, crafts, games and stories. Session takes place Aug. 1 to Aug. 3 from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Cost per child is $60 for the three-day session.

* At the five-day Junior Naturalist camp, open to ages 9 to 11, children can participate in a variety of outdoor activities designed to stimulate their interest in the natural world and breathe life into history. The camp takes place July 11 to July 15, from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Cost is $85 per child.

* Pohick Ranger camp allows children ages 9 -12 to explore the park’s wetlands and forests in search of all that lives there. This will be an active, hands-on program, with the emphasis on outdoor field study. This camp takes place from July 25 to July 29, from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. Cost is $85 per child.

St. John's Center for Early Childhood Education is taking registrations for the 2005-06 school year. St. John's offers classes for 2,3 and Pre-K 4 year olds, and before and after school care for K-5. St. John's is located at 5312 Backlick Road, Springfield. Call 703-256-7748.

Flute Trio consisting of Lee student Sam Golter and two students from Hayfield Secondary earned an Excellent rating at the Music Educators National Conference.rence.

Lee High School's Molly Austin received a certificate from "National Honor Roll" for being named a "Most Influential Teacher" and also named to "Who's Who Among American Teachers."

Lee High School senior Cate Brink has just been awarded the Radford University Nancy Necessary Pridemore Scholarship. This renewable scholarship worth more than $5,000 is the largest Theatre Scholarship awarded by the university.

The following Lee High School students have been accepted to attend academic Governor's School:

Vidhika Bansal, Kyu Gak (Michael) Do, Emily Kauffman, Julia Malapit, Jorge Morales and Nidhi Tewari.

Lee High School students Priya Bettadapur and Kathryn Cummings have been accepted to attend arts Governor's School.

The following students have been chosen as alternates for the arts Governor's School:

Sarah Fong, Aimee Gervacio, Chloe Yingst, Carrie Crow, Ariana Berger, Amanda Jones and Linh Huynh.

Lee High School's Future Business Leaders of America chapter was named as the Most Outstanding Honor Chapter for Virginia from more than 300 state chapters for the second year in a row. Top honors went to: Donia Gohrab, Thien Nguyen, Tiffany Hoang, Daniel Cao, Bao Nguyen, Tommy Chu, Megha Bakshi, Irtiza Rizvi, Gagan Chahal, Joseph Kim, Latavia Randolph, Russell Imperio, Aaron Pique, Cinthya Larios, Benish Javed, Colin Daileda, Sabah Sherwani, Chris Nagy, Adam Hutcheson, Stephanie Merino, Michael Glaeser, Zohra Amin, Kamal Whala, Dhwaja Batra, Amanda Goodman, Adeel Khan, Priya Malik, Justin Wong, Kelsey Otersen, Anoop Varma, Amaan Karim, Kym Taylor, Prince Whala, Mary Rafal, David Brick, Jason Duke, Rakin Ahmed, Haroon Mazhar, Adam Buchanan, Lavendar Phan, Jessica Le, James Walker, Mikey Williams, Matthew Delmendo, Kevin Shannon, Art DeLaura, Krishan Arora, Joey Marinucci, John French, Anthony Wu, Henry Price, Nick Baumann, Samana Lakhani, Carolina Ramallo, Zohra Amin, Stephanie Merino, Jonathan Barrera, Nahad Wassel, John French, Kym Taylor, Megan Gouveia, Bao Nguyen, Daniel Cao, Krishan Arora, Wendy Alvis and Gagan Chahal.

Phyllis C. Gron, an English for Speakers of Other Languages (ESOL) teacher at Hayfield Secondary, recently received a Certificate of Study from the Kennedy Center for her participation in the Kennedy Center's Professional Development for Teachers Program.

Crystal Holmes of Springfield, an instructional assistant at Robinson Secondary, has received a research award for her master's thesis at Longwood University. Holmes was one of two persons to receive the first-time Teacher Researcher Award from the Virginia Association of Teacher Educators. The award recognizes her thesis, "Reducing the Stereotypic Behavior of Individuals with Mental Retardation Using Response Cost within Applied Behavior Analysis."

Ronald Maggiano, a history teacher at West Springfield High School, is one of three honorees to win the National Disney Education Award for High School Humanities education. Chosen from more then 50,000 nominees, Maggiano received $10,000 from The Walt Disney Company and a trip to Disneyland in Anaheim, Calif., and the school receives $5,000.

Hayfield Secondary educators Marge Craig and Chris Lemnitzer were nominated for Who’s Who Among Teachers.

Melanie Cameron, an English teacher at Hayfield Secondary, was named a “Claes Nobel Educator of Distinction” by the National Society of High School Scholars.

The following Hayfield Secondary DECA marketing students recently attended the national conference:

* Steven Courtney, JP McKenna and Ryan Kopasz each had to take a 100 question exam all relating to marketing and advertising, as well as make a presentation titled “Advertising Campaign for the United States Army Special.”

* Shuxian Gao and Lucy Twimasi created a 35-page business plan for Shuxian’s parents’ retail store to start doing business online.

* Ashley Boney and Tricia Sangalang wrote a 35-page business plan titled “International Business Plan for Inertia Sports Complex in South Korea.”

* Michelle Crerar, Justin Sachse, Robby Chin and Chris Cunningham participated in the Leadership Development Academy while Ronald Barba took part in the Senior Management Institute.

* Ashley Boney and Tricia Sangalang competed among 100 teams in the International Business Plan event and placed in the top ten in the nation. They were awarded medallions which were presented on stage in front of 13,000 Deca students and advisers.

Hayfield Secondary student Nicholas Muramoto medaled on the National German Exam by scoring over 90 percent on the test.