People Notes

People Notes

Send announcements, which are open to the public at no or minimal cost, to The Loudoun Connection, 7913 Westpark Drive, McLean, VA 22102 or e-mail to Deadline is Friday, two weeks before the event. Photos/artwork encouraged. For more information, call Jennifer Lesinski at 703-917-6454. For additional listings, visit

Margaret Redling, an international studies major and Spanish and sociology double minor from Sterling, graduated from Randolph-Macon College in Ashland, Va. Saturday, June 2. While at Randolph-Macon, Redling was a member of Alpha Gamma Delta and was its new member coordinator and vice president of scholarship. She was also a member of Sigma Delta Pi, Alpha Kappa Delta and Pi Sigma Alpha. After graduation, Redling will be employed by Northrop Grumman. She is a 2003 graduate of Potomac Falls High School in Sterling and is the daughter of Matthew and Ellen Redling.

Twenty-nine leaders who make up the Leadership Loudoun Class of 2007 have graduated from the program. The Leadership Loudoun board of directors celebrated with the class at the graduation festivities held at River Creek Club in Leesburg June 8. The graduates are: W. Keith Brower Jr., chief fire marshal, Loudoun County; Michelle Burke, director of development, Loudoun Healthcare Foundation; Lisa Capraro, downtown coordinator, Town of Leesburg Economic Development; Yvette Castro-Green, outreach director, Loudoun County Department of Health; Louis Cironi, Realtor; Lorna Clarke, marketing and communications manager, Loudoun County Chamber of Commerce; Jeff Dube, lieutenant, Leesburg Police Department; Kirsten Hammer Dueck, executive director, George C. Marshall International Center at Dodona Manor; Gary Filak, broker, Edward Jones Investments; Rick Frye, captain/assistant division commander, Loudoun County Sheriff's Office; Bruce Gemmill, president, Campbell Associates Inc.; Melissa Gonzalez, senior financial analyst, AOL; Liz Heagy, president, Center for Lobbying in the Public Interest; Beth Howsare, controller, Reston Limousine; Pam Joseph, process consultant manager, Freddie Mac; Jey Jeyanathan, principal/manager, Stonewall Lane LLC; Lyda Kiser, grants analyst, Loudoun County Management and Financial Services; Kevin Knight, new business development manager, Rehau Inc.; James Kurtzke, director, speech management, Freddie Mac; Lovely Lall, owner/principal, Business Vardaan Inc.; Catherine Hogan Lewis, external affairs/government relations, Verizon; Mark Matthews, budget analyst, Fairfax County; Kelly Marrocco, program manager, Loudoun County Family Services; Amy Nolasco, senior business analyst, The College Board; Janet Olsen, director of human resources, EIT Inc.; Tom Simmons, owner/principal, Thomas Simmons Agency; Kristi Stilen-Lare, Program Development Manager, Loudoun Cares; Mikell Weatherton, senior treasury analyst, Freddie Mac; Fred Wright, director of services, Northrop Grumman.

Lafayette College awarded 556 degrees to 538 graduating seniors and honorary doctorates to five distinguished leaders, including historian Michael Beschloss, at the College's 172nd Commencement May 19. Stephanie Elizabeth Volk of Ashburn earned her B.S., mechanical engineering.

The Loudoun Wildlife Conservancy, Earth Force and the Audubon Naturalist Society joined in partnership this year to sponsor the first Environmental Teacher Recognition Awards. A reception was held Wednesday, May 9, at Rust Sanctuary in Leesburg. Fifteen science teachers from Loudoun County Public Schools were recognized for their outstanding efforts in leading students in environmental studies. Odette Scovel, head of the science department, represented Loudoun County Public Schools. Each teacher received a certificate and a field microscope. Teachers include: Brad George, Dominion High School; Mary Young-Lutz, Dominion High School; Jenifer Phipps, Park View High School; Renee Whitmire, Stone Bridge High School; Janet Cascio, Stone Bridge High School; Joyce Zupko, Sterling Middle School; and Rick Peck, Seneca Ridge Middle School.

Victoria Wilson of Sterling, majoring in curriculum and instruction, in the College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences at Virginia Tech, has been inducted into Phi Beta Kappa National Arts and Sciences Honor Society.

Christine Donovan of Lansdowne a junior music, marketing management and management major at Virginia Tech, has received the Dean's Rising Junior Scholarship, which is awarded to an outstanding rising junior that demonstrates strong academic achievement, leadership and service to others.

Vladimir Smirov, of Sterling, a senior music major at Virginia Tech, has been awarded the Undergraduate Research Institute Grant Recipient, which is awarded to students whose research is exceptional.

Leesburg lawyer Jennifer T. Wexton was awarded the 2007 Harry L. Carrico Pro Bono Award for Loudoun County by Legal Services of Northern Virginia, the nonprofit organization that provides legal representation and equal access to the civil justice system for low-income, elderly or disabled individuals. Wexton, a former Assistant Commonwealth’s Attorney for Loudoun County, is in private practice with the Leesburg firm of Ritenour, Paice & Mougin-Boal. Wexton concentrates her practice in the areas of criminal defense, family law and civil litigation.

Renae Smith of Sterling, a rising senior at Grove City (Pa.) College, was honored with induction into the Beta Mu circle of Omicron Delta Kappa national honor society.

On July 4 the George C. Marshall International Center at Dodona Manor will host 80 delegates from the George C. Marshall European Center for Security Studies in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany. The delegates hail from nations throughout Europe and Central Asia, and will take part in a community program that celebrates American history and emerging democracies. The visit coincides with Independence Day as well as the 60th anniversary of George Marshall’s speech at Harvard University, where he outlined the need for a recovery program to rebuild Europe after World War II.

Loudoun County Public Library has received special mention as Library Journal’s Library of the Year. This award is given to library systems that show creativity and innovation in developing specific community programs that increase library usage; and show leadership in creating programs that can be emulated by other libraries. The award given to Loudoun County Public Library acknowledges that "they listened to the people, but the key to their success was in what they did about what they heard." While based on excellent services to the community, and outstanding collection of materials, the award highlight the library’s outreach to teens.

Eric R. Link has been hired as Loudoun County’s legislative liaison effective June 11. Link will replace Memory Porter, who retired from that position last month after 27 years.

Link, 39, has been employed since 2004 by the Virginia Information Technologies Agency (VITA), where he has served as a senior contract officer and advisor to the chief information officer on legislative matters. VITA is a state information technology agency that provides services to more than 90 executive branch agencies and other Virginia government customers.

Kimberly Lyon of Sterling won second place for second grades for the Jamestown 400th Commemorative Postal Cachet Contest with a special awards ceremony and reception at Jamestown Settlement June 23.

The Piedmont Community Foundation named the Loudoun Literacy Council as the first recipient of a Culture and Arts Program Grant from the Community Fund Endowment. The grant of $500 was awarded to support the newly formed Literacy Symposium, which will help local English as a Second Language providers better serve the immigrant population in Loudoun County.